Support The Moscow Times!

Details of New Russian Army Divisions to 'Counter NATO' Revealed

Russian President Vladimir Putin (L) and Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu

Russia has revealed details on three new army divisions designed to counteract NATO's military buildup near the country’s borders, Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu announced Wednesday.

The Russian defense minister announced the formation of three new divisions in January.

All three divisions are set to be motor rifle units with up to 10,000 men, according to state-run news agency TASS. One will to be deployed to the Rostov-on-Don region, with two more located in the Smolensk and Voronezh regions.

Senior Russian Foreign Ministry official Andrei Kelin told the Interfax news website that Russia would be forced to take retaliatory measures if NATO deployed four extra battalions in Poland and the Baltic states.

U.S. Defense Secretary Ash Carter said on Monday that the alliance was looking into establishing a rotation of up to 4,000 troops in the Baltic, split between the United States and its allies. The Baltic states, comprising of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, requested greater security from NATO after Russia's annexation of Crimea two years ago.

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

As the only remaining independent, English-language news source reporting from Russia, The Moscow Times plays a critical role in connecting Russia to the world.

Editorial decisions are made entirely by journalists in our newsroom, who adhere to the highest ethical standards. We fearlessly cover issues that are often considered off-limits or taboo in Russia, from domestic violence and LGBT issues to the climate crisis and a secretive nuclear blast that exposed unknowing doctors to radiation.

As we approach the holiday season, please consider making a one-time donation — or better still a recurring donation — to The Moscow Times to help us continue producing vital, high-quality journalism about the world’s largest country.