Support The Moscow Times!

Australia Imposes Sanctions on 38 More Russian and Ukrainian Officials

U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry, U.S. Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel, Australian Foreign Minister Julie Bishop, and Australian Defence Minister David Johnston walk to the Tomb of Unknown Soldier to participate in a wreath laying ceremony at Arlington National Cemetery in Arlington, Virginia.

Australia said on Wednesday that it will impose sanctions on an additional 38 Russian and Ukrainian individuals and 11 companies due to what it said was Russia's failure to de-escalate the crisis in eastern Ukraine, the country's foreign minister said.

The measure reaffirms "Australia's clear and unequivocal support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine," Foreign Minister Julie Bishop said, according to the online statement.

Bishop said that the new wave of sanctions is a response to Russia's failure to act on an international agreement it made in Geneva last month to reduce tensions in eastern Ukraine, where armed pro-Russian separatists have occupied government buildings and clashed with Ukrainian troops.

She urged Moscow to "change its course" and refrain from deliberately destabilizing Ukraine.

In March, Australia imposed sanctions and asset freezes against 12 Russian and Ukrainian officials that it deemed responsible for Russia's annexation of Crimea that month, though it declined specify exactly who was on the list.

Read more:

Australia to Impose Sanctions on 12 Russian and Ukrainian Officials

Read more