Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

Moscow Bans 23 Britons From Entering Russia

Russia's Foreign Ministry building in Moscow. Russian Foreign Ministry / Facebook

Moscow has added 23 British nationals to its entry ban list in retaliation for London's war-related sanctions, Russia’s Foreign Ministry said Wednesday.

The ministry did not publish the full list of names — which is said to include individuals from journalists and academics to military and political figures — but it did single out eight Britons who would be banned from entering Russia.

Among them is Britain's Chief of the Defense Staff Admiral Sir Tony Radakin, whom Moscow accused of “supervising” the training of Ukrainian troops in Britain.

Also on the list is Madeleine Alessandri, chair of the Joint Intelligence Committee which coordinates the U.K.’s top spy agencies, for being “involved in formulating London’s strategy in Ukraine,” Russia’s ministry said.

Moscow's blacklist also includes Cressida Hogg, chair of Britain’s largest defense contractor BAE Systems, which set up a legal entity in Ukraine this month to offer direct support to its armed forces.

Russian authorities said they would continue expanding the blacklist if London continues to pursue a “hostile” sanctions policy.

The United Kingdom has imposed asset freezes and travel bans on more than 1,600 Russian nationals on accusations of supporting Moscow’s invasion of Ukraine.

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more