Support The Moscow Times!

Pushkin House Gets Ready for Its 10th Anniversary Book Prize

Today the judges were announced for the jubilee edition.

Denis Grishkin / Moskva News Agency

The Pushkin House Book Prize is going to be a bit different this year. Although the prize will, as usual, be awarded to the best book from or about Russia published in English or in English translation, this year judges will consider books published not in one year, but from Jan. 1, 2021 to the end of June 2002. And since it marks the 10th anniversary of the prize, there may be other events and innovations ahead.

The judges for this jubilee prize were announced today in London. They are:

Evgenia Arbugaeva, a photographer well-known in part for her photographs of the Russian Artic. She is a National Geographic Society Storytelling Fellow and recipient of many awards, including the ICP Infinity and Leica Oskar Barnack awards.

Baroness Deborah Bull, a writer, broadcaster and cultural commentator who danced with The Royal Ballet for 20 years before becoming creative director at the Royal Opera House. She is a Crossbench Peer in the House of Lords and vice president (Communities and National Engagement) at King's College London.

Archie Brown, Emeritus Professor of Politics at Oxford University and the author of many books including “The Human Factor: Gorbachev, Reagan and Thatcher and the End of the Cold War,” which won the 2021 Pushkin House Book Prize.

Dmitry Glukhovsky, a multilingual author and journalist who published articles in such media as “Novaya Gazeta” and “Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung.” He is author of the cult science fiction series “Metro” and “Text,” both also in film versions.

Ekaterina Schulmann, an associate professor at the Moscow School of Social and Economic Sciences and an associate fellow at Chatham House. A prominent commentator and speaker, her writing includes “Not just a Rubber Stamp: Parliament and Lawmaking” with Ben Noble.

The Prize is supported by author Douglas Smith —winner of the inaugural award in 2013 — and Stephanie Ellis-Smith, and the Polonsky Foundation. It was initiated to highlight, reward and encourage public understanding and intelligent writing about the Russian-speaking world.

After reading more than one hundred nominated books, the judges will announce their short list of six books during the summer. The winner, who receives a prize of £10,000, will be announced at a ceremony in the fall.

For more information about the Book Prize and other Pushkin House activities, see the site here

Read more