Support The Moscow Times!

The Tyranny of Positive Thinking Debated Live Online

On Oct. 26 tune in for a clash or coming-together of discussants.

Art critic and curator Andrey Shental. WhatsApp

Winzavod Center for Contemporary Art, one of Moscow’s oldest and largest venues for contemporary art, has joined with the VII Moscow International Biennale for Young Art to hold a series of educational programs. The public online discussions, online “diaries,” and master classes have just begun and will run until early December.

The discussions are on topics not usually considered relevant (or even interesting) in Russia and are called, appropriately the “Salon of Dismissed Categories.” Curated by art critic Andrei Shental, the topics are age, the tyranny of positive thinking, failure, and social distancing.

All the discussions are conducted in English with simultaneous interpretation into Russian.

On Monday evening Oct. 26 at 7 p.m. Moscow time (4 p.m. in London, noon in New York) the tyranny of positive thinking will be discussed and debated by Eva Illouz (Israel); Aaron Shuster (U.S.) Natalya Protasenya (Russia); and Boris Klyushnikov (Russia).

Register free for the Zoom discussion tonight here or watch on VKontakte here

For more information about the program, Winzavod and the Moscow International Biennale for Young art, see the site here

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

The Moscow Times’ team of journalists has been first with the big stories on the coronavirus crisis in Russia since day one. Our exclusives and on-the-ground reporting are being read and shared by many high-profile journalists.

We wouldn’t be able to produce this crucial journalism without the support of our loyal readers. Please consider making a donation to The Moscow Times to help us continue covering this historic time in the world’s largest country.