Support The Moscow Times!

Watch 'Amerikanki' Online Tonight

An online performance based on Zoya Boguslavskaya's book.

Actors playing Zoya Boguslavskaya and various American women Courtesy of Voznesensky Cultural Center

This Wednesday evening at 8:30 p.m. Moscow time (1:30 p.m. in New York, 5:30 p.m. in London) the Vozenesensky Cultural Center is hosting an online performance based on the book "Amerikanki" by Zoya Boguslavskaya.

The book, which came out in 1991, was a compendium of Boguslavskaya's essays and descriptions of meetings with a wide variety of American women over the decades, from first ladies Jacqueline Kennedy and Nancy Reagan, to a city worker and prison inmate. The book was a bestseller at the time - a wide-ranging, engaging travelogue written at a time when everything about America and Americans was fascinating to Russian readers. And in writing about Americans, Bogulslavskaya also wrote about Russian women, directly or indirectly, and larger issues of freedom, feminism, and change. 

The performance is a joint production of the Center and the Russian-American theatrical group led by Yekaterian Smorodinova and Andrew Freeburg.

It stars Daria Rumyantseva, Anna Nekrasova, Yekaterina Dar, Anna Kalabina, and Jordon Rose Frye, a graduate of the Viktor Ryzhakov Studio.

The performance, which will be in Russian, can be viewed on YouTube here. 

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

The Moscow Times’ team of journalists has been first with the big stories on the coronavirus crisis in Russia since day one. Our exclusives and on-the-ground reporting are being read and shared by many high-profile journalists.

We wouldn’t be able to produce this crucial journalism without the support of our loyal readers. Please consider making a donation to The Moscow Times to help us continue covering this historic time in the world’s largest country.