Support The Moscow Times!

Be an Audience of One

The Moscow Philharmonic broadcasts armchair concerts

Host Irina Tushintseva introduces pianist Boris Berezovsky meloman.ru

The Moscow Philharmonic has launched "armchair concerts" — concerts held in the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall to an audience on one: the host. The hosts introduce the performers, composers and music, and then you sit back in your armchair, or desk chair, or dining room chair and enjoy a beautifully filmed and recorded concert. 

On Thursday at 7 p.m. Moscow time (noon in New York, 4 p.m. in London) you can enjoy works by Schumann, Rachmaninoff, and Piazzolla performed by Boris Andrianov (cello) and Andrei Gugnin (piano). Tomorrow — an evening of Chopin.

You can also enjoy previous concerts. Just click on the site, register (free of charge) and choose whatever you'd like to hear.

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

As the only remaining independent, English-language news source reporting from Russia, The Moscow Times plays a critical role in connecting Russia to the world.

Editorial decisions are made entirely by journalists in our newsroom, who adhere to the highest ethical standards. We fearlessly cover issues that are often considered off-limits or taboo in Russia, from domestic violence and LGBT issues to the climate crisis and a secretive nuclear blast that exposed unknowing doctors to radiation.

Please consider making a one-time donation — or better still a recurring donation — to The Moscow Times to help us continue producing vital, high-quality journalism about the world's largest country.