Support The Moscow Times!

Canada Imposes Sanctions on 16 Russian 'Entities'

Canada's Prime Minister Stephen Harper speaks during Question Period in the House of Commons on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, Canada.

Correction appended.

Canada has imposed sanctions against 16 more Russian "entities" in response to what Prime Minister Stephen Harper described as Russia's "illegal occupation of Ukraine."

The latest sanctions are intended to "increase economic pressure on Russia and those responsible for the crisis in Ukraine," Harper said Sunday in a statement published on his government's website.

"Russia's illegal occupation of Ukraine and provocative military activity remains a serious concern to the international community," Harper said in the statement, adding that Canada and its Western allies "will take further actions if Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity continues to be threatened."

The statement by Harper's office did not specify the 16 "entities" that the new sanctions would cover.

Canada has issued a series of sanctions against Russian officials and companies since the annexation of Crimea in March, including nine Russian individuals and two banks sanctioned last week. The European Union and the U.S. have also imposed similar measures.

Correction: An earlier version of this article stated that one of the entities sanctioned by the Canadian government was TPS Avia Group. In fact, TPS Avia Group was not included on the list of sanctioned Russian entities.

See also:
Canada Imposes Sanctions Against 2 Banks

Read more

The need for honest and objective information on Russia is more relevant now than ever before!

To keep our newsroom in Moscow running, we need your support.