Support The Moscow Times!

Peru Waives Visas for Russian Tourists

Add one more Latin American country to Russia's visa-free list: Peru. The country follows regional neighbors Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Chile, Columbia, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Nicaragua and Venezuela in waiving visas for Russian tourists.

Last year, roughly 2000 Russians visited Peru, whose famous tourist sites include Machu Picchu and other Inca sites.

The visa waiver will not drastically increase the number of Russian tourists in Peru because the country still falls in the exotic or premium category. Moreover, steep airline fares and a long flight discourage would-be travelers.

Nevertheless, the move is a victory for Russian policymakers, who have made visa-free travel and simplified entry requirements a top priority.

Read more