×
Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

Go to the Russian Theater This Weekend

See two cutting-edge live-streamed plays for free

"Love and Intrigue" stagerussia.com

This weekend, why not go to the theater and see works by some of Russia’s most innovative and celebrated directors?.

For 24 hours starting at 9 p.m. in Moscow on Saturday (2 p.m. in New York and 7 p.m.in London) you can see  “Love and Intrigue (Kill)” by Frederich Schiller, directed by Timofei Kulyabin in Novosibirsk’s Red Torch Theater. Gone is the melodrama, and in its place are quiet and unquiet declarations of love and love lost. Filmed before a live audience and presented in Russian with English subtitles.

You can see it here for free. 

On Sunday at 4 p.m. Moscow time (9 a.m. in New York and 2 p.m. in London), you can come to Moscow, virtually, to see Boris Yukhanov’s 2002 production of “Sunflowers,” based on the “The Two Character Play” by Tennessee Williams.

It stars the fabulous actors Lea Akhedzhakova and Viktor Gvozditsky, who play a brother and sister living together, confined, we see, in many ways. Yukhanov, the artistic director of the Stanislavsky Electrotheater, was one of the founders of the Soviet Parallel Cinema.

The production is in Russian. It is also free, streamed on the Seance website  and on the Electrotheatre page in Vkontakte.


					Lea Akhedzhakova and Viktor Gvozditsky					 					Stanislavsky Electrotheater
Lea Akhedzhakova and Viktor Gvozditsky Stanislavsky Electrotheater

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

Once
Monthly
Annual
Continue
paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more