Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

Deputy Prime Minister and 2 Putin Aides on EU Sanctions List

Presidential adviser Vladislav Surkov, one of the Russians included on the EU sanctions list.

Two of President Vladimir Putin's aides and a Russian deputy prime minister are among the 12 Russians and Crimeans to have been added to the European Union's sanctions list.

Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin, presidential aides Sergei Glazyev and Vladislav Surkov, State Duma Speaker Sergei Naryshkin, Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matviyenko, and Duma deputy Yelena Mizulina were all on the list, published Friday by the EU.

Dmitry Kiselyov, head of Kremlin-backed news agency Rossia Segodnya, was included, as were two Crimean electoral officials, two deputy Black Sea Fleet commanders, and a Russian Armed Forces commander.

This brings the total number of people targeted by the EU in the response to the Ukraine crisis to 33.

They are forbidden from traveling to the EU and their European assets have been frozen.

The U.S. on Thursday imposed sanctions on an additional 20 Russian officials and businessmen, prompting Russia to respond almost immediately with a list of its own that targeted nine U.S. officials and lawmakers.

Russia is yet to impose sanctions on European officials, however.

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more