Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

U.S. Widens Net to Impose Sanctions on More Russians

U.S. President Barack Obama announced Thursday that Washington is imposing sanctions on an additional 20 Russians over the part played by Moscow in the Ukraine crisis. 

The new list includes President Vladimir Putin's chief of staff, Sergei Ivanov, State Duma Speaker Sergei Naryshkin, and a number of other prominent Russian politicians. 

Russian Railways chief Vladimir Yakunin and tycoon brothers Arkady and Boris Rotenberg were also on the list, as was Bank Rossiya.

Obama concluded by reminding Russia that there is still time to pursue a diplomatic solution to the situation in Ukraine and urged Putin to respect the territorial integrity of Ukraine.

On Monday, the U.S. placed sanctions on seven Russian officials and four Ukrainian officials, though it was widely felt that the measures would have little impact on Putin's calculations. 

Russia's Foreign Ministry retaliated almost immediately by levying sanctions on Senator John McCain, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reed, House Speaker John Boehner, and Chairman of Senate Foreign Relations Committee Robert Menendez.

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more