Support The Moscow Times!

Cancer-Fighting Nano-Diamonds Win Ig Nobel Prize

Russians were among a group of scientists awarded with 2012 Ig Nobel Prizes, a spoof of the prestigious award.

Igor Petrov, an electrical engineer from the Chelyabinsk region, and his colleagues at the SKN Company won the Peace Prize for converting old military explosives into nano-diamonds that can be used as light beacons for cancer treatment, reported.

Petrov was among the winners of 10 awards from around the world to attend the ceremony of the whimsical award held at Harvard's campus on Thursday.

The others included Rouslan Krechetnikov, a mechanical engineering professor at the University of California, and his student Hans Mayer, who got the Fluid Dynamics Prize for their research on the dynamics of liquid-sloshing, to learn what happens when a person walks while carrying a cup of coffee.

Krechetnikov earned a doctorate in applied mathematics from the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, RIA-Novosti reported.

Anita Eerland and Rolf Zwaan of the Netherlands and Tulio Guadalupe, who represented Peru, the Netherlands and Russia, were awarded with the Psychology Prize for their study titled, "Leaning to the Left Makes the Eiffel Tower Seem Smaller."

Related articles:

… we have a small favor to ask.

As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just 2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.


Read more