Support The Moscow Times!

Russia, OPEC Countries Agree on Oil Production Freeze

Russia, Venezuela, Qatar and Saudi Arabia have agreed to freeze oil production at January levels provided that other producers join the initiative, the Energy Ministry said, the Interfax news agency reported.

Russian Energy Minister Alexander Novak met Tuesday with representatives from three OPEC countries — Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Venezuela — to discuss the agreement.

“We expect other members of the cartel to join our agreement,” Russian OPEC envoy Vladimir Voronkov said, Interfax reported.

Qatar’s oil minister claimed Tuesday that Russia and OPEC decided to freeze oil production at Jan. 11 levels, Bloomberg reported.

After the announcement, the price for Brent crude oil fell swiftly from $35.5 to $34 per barrel. According to experts, the results of the meeting failed to meet the expectations of market participants, Interfax reported.

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

As the only remaining independent, English-language news source reporting from Russia, The Moscow Times plays a critical role in connecting Russia to the world.

Editorial decisions are made entirely by journalists in our newsroom, who adhere to the highest ethical standards. We fearlessly cover issues that are often considered off-limits or taboo in Russia, from domestic violence and LGBT issues to the climate crisis and a secretive nuclear blast that exposed unknowing doctors to radiation.

As we approach the holiday season, please consider making a one-time donation — or better still a recurring donation — to The Moscow Times to help us continue producing vital, high-quality journalism about the world’s largest country.