Support The Moscow Times!

U.S. Adds Five More Russians to Magnitsky List

The United States has sanctioned five more Russian citizens in connection with the death of lawyer Sergei Magnitsky, the U.S. Department of the Treasury said in a statement Monday.

The individuals that have been added to the Magnitsky List are Alexei Anichin, Pavel Lapshov, Boris Kibis, Yevgeny Antonov and Oleg Urzumtsev. They will be banned from entering the U.S. and their U.S. assets will be frozen.

According to a U.S. State Department spokesperson, Antonov was the head of the “Chernokozovo” detention center where human rights violations were detected, the RIA Novosti news agency reported Tuesday.

The other four individuals added to the list were linked to the investigation into the Magnitsky case and worked in law enforcement.

Hermitage Capital lawyer Sergei Magnitsky died in 2009 in a Moscow jail, where he was beaten and denied medical assistance, according to human rights activists.

On Dec. 14, 2012, the U.S. introduced the Magnitsky Act that sanctioned Russians involved in human rights violations. The list of sanctioned Russians currently includes 39 individuals, RIA Novosti reported.

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

As the only remaining independent, English-language news source reporting from Russia, The Moscow Times plays a critical role in connecting Russia to the world.

Editorial decisions are made entirely by journalists in our newsroom, who adhere to the highest ethical standards. We fearlessly cover issues that are often considered off-limits or taboo in Russia, from domestic violence and LGBT issues to the climate crisis and a secretive nuclear blast that exposed unknowing doctors to radiation.

As we approach the holiday season, please consider making a one-time donation — or better still a recurring donation — to The Moscow Times to help us continue producing vital, high-quality journalism about the world’s largest country.