Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

Visas for Kosovo Available to Russians

Russians can now buy visas for entry to Kovovo, even though Russia still refuses to recognize the Balkan republic's independence.

Visas will also be made available for nationals of 86 other countries to purchase, Interfax reported Tuesday.

"We have just issued the first entry visa of the Republic of Kosovo to a citizen from Ghana," the republic's Foreign Minister Enver Hoxhaj wrote on Twitter.

The minister said the new visa regime will prevent human trafficking and illegal migration in the self-administered republic, known to have been a major route for illegal migration to the European Union since Yugoslavia disintegrated.

Entry visas for travel to Kosovo will be required for citizens of several European countries including Russia, Moldova, Belarus and Ukraine, as well as Asian and African countries, such as Egypt, India, China, Indonesia and Pakistan.

Kosovo was part of Serbia as an autonomous region populated by an ethnic Albanian majority. In 2008 it declared its independence and was promptly recognized by several dozen European and Arab countries including the U.S., Australia and New Zealand.

Neither Serbia nor Russia have recognized Kosovo's independence, however, it has become a member of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund.

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more