4 Military Districts

The military has completed a switch to a new territorial division system, dividing the country into four military districts instead of six, General Staff deputy chief Andrei Tretyak said Wednesday, Interfax reported.

The system, which consists of Western, Southern, Central and Eastern military districts, was introduced following President Dmitry Medvedev’s order in July.


Read more