Support The Moscow Times!

Trump Administration Blacklists 4 Russian Citizens, 1 Company Over North Korea

David Myers / Flickr

The Trump administration on Tuesday imposed new sanctions on Russian companies for “supporting the North Korean regime.”

In an online statement, the U.S. Treasury said it was targeting 10 entities and six individuals as a result of North Korea's "development of weapons of mass destruction, violations of United Nations Security Council Resolutions, and attempted evasion of U.S. sanctions."

The list includes the Moscow-based Gefest-M and its director Ruben Kirakosyan, for doing business with a North Korean entity involved in producing missiles.

The Treasury’s statement also said it would sanction Russian citizens Mikhail Pisklin, Andrei Serbin and Irina Huish “for operating in the energy industry in the North Korean economy."

"As a result of today’s action, any property or interests in property of the designated persons in the possession or control of U.S. persons or within the United States must be blocked, and U.S. persons are generally prohibited from dealing with them,” the statement reads.

In total, the list, which also affects Chinese companies and individuals, includes four Russian citizens and one Russian company.

Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

The Moscow Times’ team of journalists has been first with the big stories on the coronavirus crisis in Russia since day one. Our exclusives and on-the-ground reporting are being read and shared by many high-profile journalists.

We wouldn’t be able to produce this crucial journalism without the support of our loyal readers. Please consider making a donation to The Moscow Times to help us continue covering this historic time in the world’s largest country.