Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

Nemtsov, Savchenko and Snowden Nominated for European Sakharov Prize

Ukrainian military pilot Nadezhda Savchenk (L), former pposition leader Boris Nemtsov.

The European Parliament has nominated Russian slain opposition politician Boris Nemtsov and Ukrainian pilot Nadezhda Savchenko for the 2015 Sakharov Prize.

The prize is awarded every year “to honor exceptional individuals who combat intolerance, fanaticism and oppression,” the parliament said Thursday in an online statement.

Edward Snowden, the U.S. intelligence leaker who has received asylum in Russia, is also among the seven nominees for the 50,000-euro award, the parliament said.

Nemtsov — the first deputy prime minister under former President Boris Yeltsin and once his likely successor — was a vocal critic of Russian leader Vladimir Putin.

He was shot and killed near the Kremlin on the night of Feb. 27, while working on a report exposing Russia's involvement in the ongoing conflict between separatists in eastern Ukraine and Kiev government troops.

Savchenko, the pilot, was captured last year by pro-Moscow forces in eastern Ukraine and handed over to Russia where she is on trial on charges of abetting the killing of two Russian journalists.

She has been celebrated as a symbol of Ukrainian resistance at home, and was elected to both the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and to the Ukrainian parliament while in prison.

The winner of the prize — named after Russian nuclear physicist, human rights activist and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Andrei Sakharov — will be announced in October.

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more