Enjoying ad-free content?
Since July 1, 2024, we have disabled all ads to improve your reading experience.
This commitment costs us $10,000 a month. Your support can help us fill the gap.
Support us
Our journalism is banned in Russia. We need your help to keep providing you with the truth.

5 Kyrgyz Parties Win Parliamentary Seats

BISHKEK, Kyrgyzstan — Kyrgyzstan's parliamentary elections, triggered by the April overthrow of President Kurmanbek Bakiyev and the worst ethnic violence in decades, saw five parties win representation, although none have a majority.

Weeks after an Oct. 10 vote, the Central Elections Commission on Monday announced the final results, which will mean heated negotiations lie ahead to form a coalition government in the mountainous nation, which hosts U.S. and Russian air bases.

Kyrgyzstan is trying to move out of almost 20 years of failed authoritarian rule and to create the first parliamentary democracy in Central Asia, where the other four former Soviet states continue to be run by presidential strongmen.

"The day that the entire nation had been impatiently waiting for has come," Central Elections Commission head Akylbek Sariyev said before announcing the final results.

The parties that passed the 5 percent threshold to enter the parliament were Ata Zhurt with 8.47 percent, the Social Democrats (7.83 percent), Ar Namys (7.57 percent), Respublika (6.93 percent) and Ata Meken (5.49 percent).

With the five winning parties securing a little more than 36 percent of the popular vote, there are fears of a backlash. Analysts say some of the losers could call on their supporters to come out into the street to contest election results at protest rallies rather than initiate legal challenges.

The Butun Kyrgyzstan party, with a strong support base in the south and which finished sixth with 4.6 percent of the vote, has held vocal protests and threatened the authorities with new upheavals, saying it was robbed of representation in parliament.

"The Oct. 10 vote was illegal," Butun Kyrgyzstan leader Adakhan Madumarov told journalists shortly before the final results were announced. "A huge sum of money was simply wasted."

Under new rules, the parliament will be the country's main decision-making body, assuming more power than the president.

Under interim President Roza Otunbayeva's plans for parliamentary democracy, the prime minister will have more power than the president.

Under the new charter, Otunbayeva will be acting president until Dec. 31, 2011. Parliamentary elections will take place every five years.

With seats in the new legislature distributed proportionately, Ata Zhurt will hold 28 seats, followed by the Social Democrats with 26, Ar Namys with 25, Respublika with 23 and Ata Meken with 18 seats.

… we have a small favor to ask. As you may have heard, The Moscow Times, an independent news source for over 30 years, has been unjustly branded as a "foreign agent" by the Russian government. This blatant attempt to silence our voice is a direct assault on the integrity of journalism and the values we hold dear.

We, the journalists of The Moscow Times, refuse to be silenced. Our commitment to providing accurate and unbiased reporting on Russia remains unshaken. But we need your help to continue our critical mission.

Your support, no matter how small, makes a world of difference. If you can, please support us monthly starting from just $2. It's quick to set up, and you can be confident that you're making a significant impact every month by supporting open, independent journalism. Thank you.

paiment methods
Not ready to support today?
Remind me later.

Read more