Support The Moscow Times!

Russia's Presidential Inaugurations Through the Years

Today, Putin was inaugurated as president of Russia, his fourth swearing in since 2000. Over the course of his political career, Putin has remained in charge with only a brief handover to Dmitry Medvedev, who is expected to maintain his position as prime minister for the next six years.

From Yeltsin to Putin, Medvedev, Putin and now more Putin, here’s a look back over the decades.