Support The Moscow Times!

Now is the time to support independent reporting from Russia!

Contribute Today

Rogozin to Chair Rosatom

President Vladimir Putin has appointed Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin chairman of nuclear monopoly Rosatom's supervisory board, Interfax reported Tuesday, citing a presidential order.

The previous chairman was First Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov.

Putin replaced five of the board's nine members, including Economic Development Minister Andrei Belousov, Deputy Prime Minister Arkady Dvorkovich, the president's first deputy chief of staff Sergei Prikhodko and former Energy Minister Sergei Shmatko.

The new appointees include Deputy Economic Development Minister Andrei Klepach, Energy Minister Alexander Novak, and presidential aides Yury Trutnev and Yury Ushakov.

Meanwhile, Igor Borovkov, a deputy chief of staff of the cabinet, presidential aide Larisa Brycheva, Rosatom chief Sergei Kirienko, and Yury Yakovlev, head of the Federal Security Service's economic security deparment, retained their seats.

Related articles:

Read more

Russia media is under attack.

At least 10 independent media outlets have been blocked or closed down over their coverage of the war in Ukraine.

The Moscow Times needs your help more than ever as we cover this devastating invasion and its sweeping impacts on Russian society.