Support The Moscow Times!

Economic Policy Agreed

MINSK — Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan signed on Friday a macroeconomic policy coordination agreement, a key part of their drive to create a free trade zone in 2012. Government sources told Reuters that the agreement covers a common approach to policies regarding debt, exchange rates and inflation.

The Russian government said the three prime ministers signed the economic agreement, as well as documents on migration and access to natural monopolies services, at their meeting in Minsk.

Friday’s agreements are among several being negotiated to form a common economic area across the three countries in 2012.


Read more

Independent journalism isn’t dead. You can help keep it alive.

The Moscow Times’ team of journalists has been first with the big stories on the coronavirus crisis in Russia since day one. Our exclusives and on-the-ground reporting are being read and shared by many high-profile journalists.

We wouldn’t be able to produce this crucial journalism without the support of our loyal readers. Please consider making a donation to The Moscow Times to help us continue covering this historic time in the world’s largest country.