The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/opinion The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Mon, 30 Mar 2020 16:28:20 +0200 600 A Guide to Russian Stance Verbs https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/27/a-guide-to-russian-stance-verbs-a69777 In Russian dresses sit, money lies, plates stand and shelves hang. Какой кошмар. Fri, 27 Mar 2020 17:04:48 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/27/a-guide-to-russian-stance-verbs-a69777 Moscow's Mayor, Not Putin, Is Leading Russia's Coronavirus Fight. Will He Be Allowed to Do the Job? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/26/moscows-mayor-not-putin-is-leading-russias-coronavirus-fight-will-he-be-allowed-to-do-the-job-a69759 The coronavirus is an interesting — if somewhat depressing — case study of late Putinist crisis management. Thu, 26 Mar 2020 10:13:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/26/moscows-mayor-not-putin-is-leading-russias-coronavirus-fight-will-he-be-allowed-to-do-the-job-a69759 Why Russian Pensioners Won’t Self-Isolate https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/25/why-russian-pensioners-wont-self-isolate-a69746 Russian pensioners believe that they alone know how to survive through life's hardships. Wed, 25 Mar 2020 09:39:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/25/why-russian-pensioners-wont-self-isolate-a69746 Business in the Time of Coronavirus: Navigating a Pandemic https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/23/business-in-the-time-of-coronavirus-navigating-a-pandemic-a69718 Companies need to understand how to deal with knee-jerk responses from governments, and not upset politically-important partners. Mon, 23 Mar 2020 11:01:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/23/business-in-the-time-of-coronavirus-navigating-a-pandemic-a69718 Russia Sees Its Worldview Vindicated in the Age of Coronavirus https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/21/russia-sees-its-worldview-vindicated-in-the-age-of-coronavirus-a69709 As the Kremlin prepares to manage the health emergency, it’s coming to view the global disarray as affirmation of its ideology. Sat, 21 Mar 2020 11:59:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/21/russia-sees-its-worldview-vindicated-in-the-age-of-coronavirus-a69709 Telecommuting and Fist Bumps Russian Style https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/20/telecommuting-and-fist-bumps-russian-style-a69693 Pandemic vocabulary building for everyone. Just in case. Fri, 20 Mar 2020 18:14:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/20/telecommuting-and-fist-bumps-russian-style-a69693 Russia Battles New Economic Crisis on Three Fronts https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/20/russia-battles-new-economic-crisis-on-three-fronts-a69690 The current economic turbulence resembles a fire at an explosives warehouse during a flood and an earthquake, all at the same time. Fri, 20 Mar 2020 11:21:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/20/russia-battles-new-economic-crisis-on-three-fronts-a69690 Russia’s 'Special Path' Won’t Protect it From the Coronavirus https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/19/russias-special-path-wont-protect-it-from-the-coronavirus-a69686 Logic dictates that the pandemic will soon overwhelm Russia too. Thu, 19 Mar 2020 15:55:32 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/19/russias-special-path-wont-protect-it-from-the-coronavirus-a69686 Buckwheat and the Coronavirus: How Russians Cope With the End of the World https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/18/buckwheat-and-the-coronavirus-how-russians-cope-with-the-end-of-the-world-a69668 Although Putin stressed that there was no need to stock up on food, throngs of anxious Muscovites snatched up astronomical quantities of buckwheat. Wed, 18 Mar 2020 13:35:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/18/buckwheat-and-the-coronavirus-how-russians-cope-with-the-end-of-the-world-a69668 Farewell, Limonov, a Hand Grenade Amongst the Party Poppers https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/18/farewell-limonov-a-hand-grenade-amongst-the-party-poppers-a69666 A Limonov may not have been interested in democracy, but democracy needs to be interested in Limonovs. Wed, 18 Mar 2020 13:29:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/18/farewell-limonov-a-hand-grenade-amongst-the-party-poppers-a69666 War With OPEC Can’t End Well for Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/16/war-with-opec-cant-end-well-for-russia-a69636 Falling oil prices leave no chance Russia’s GDP will grow in 2020 — a bleak prospect for both ordinary people and once optimistic investors. Mon, 16 Mar 2020 11:21:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/16/war-with-opec-cant-end-well-for-russia-a69636 Starting the Presidency All Over Again https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/13/starting-the-presidency-all-over-again-a69613 Russian wits had so much fun with the nullification of presidential term limits. Fri, 13 Mar 2020 14:16:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/13/starting-the-presidency-all-over-again-a69613 A New Russia Is Taking Shape and There Is No Turning Back https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/12/a-new-russia-is-taking-shape-and-there-is-no-turning-back-a69605 If Russia ever wants to return to the European model, it will have to dismantle the entire political legacy that this regime has built. Thu, 12 Mar 2020 13:48:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/12/a-new-russia-is-taking-shape-and-there-is-no-turning-back-a69605 Medvedev’s Security Council Role Makes Him And it More Interesting https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/10/medvedevs-security-council-role-makes-him-and-it-more-interesting-a69571 Putin appears to have given his ex-premier the chance to demonstrate his political virility. Tue, 10 Mar 2020 10:18:49 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/10/medvedevs-security-council-role-makes-him-and-it-more-interesting-a69571 Oil War: Who Will Blink First? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/10/oil-war-who-will-blink-first-a69570 The closing shoot-out scene of the spaghetti western “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly” comes to mind. Tue, 10 Mar 2020 09:35:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/10/oil-war-who-will-blink-first-a69570 Russia Celebrates Misogyny, Not Equality on Women's Day https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/09/russia-celebrates-misogyny-not-equality-on-womens-day-a69564 In Russia, a woman is necessary only to serve or to decorate something — or to receive threats if she ventures beyond these boundaries. Mon, 09 Mar 2020 11:39:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/09/russia-celebrates-misogyny-not-equality-on-womens-day-a69564 The Expat Russian Language Guide to Coronavirus https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/06/the-expat-russian-language-guide-to-coronavirus-a69547 Are you panicked about coronavirus! Без паники! I walk you through Russian instructions. Fri, 06 Mar 2020 13:30:48 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/06/the-expat-russian-language-guide-to-coronavirus-a69547 Why Should Bernie Sanders Apologize for Communism? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/03/why-should-bernie-sanders-apologize-for-communism-a69509 American memory politics of the communist past is first and foremost a whip for ideological disciplining. Tue, 03 Mar 2020 15:35:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/03/why-should-bernie-sanders-apologize-for-communism-a69509 Russia and Turkey Search for the Endgame in Syria, With or Without Assad https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/03/russia-and-turkey-search-for-the-endgame-in-syria-with-or-without-assad-a69500 As they meet this week, Putin and Erdogan may have to give up on their most ambitious plans and settle for something they can actually obtain. Tue, 03 Mar 2020 12:08:09 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/03/03/russia-and-turkey-search-for-the-endgame-in-syria-with-or-without-assad-a69500 Kadyrov Daughter’s Parisian Fashion Debut Is a Slap in the Face https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/28/kadyrov-daughters-parisian-fashion-debut-is-a-slap-in-the-face-a69458 Allowing Kadyrov’s daughter to host an event of such scale in the capital of France sends a troubling message. Fri, 28 Feb 2020 15:43:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/28/kadyrov-daughters-parisian-fashion-debut-is-a-slap-in-the-face-a69458 I'm All For It! https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/28/im-all-for-it-words-worth-a69447 What do you say to a bit of grammar? A preposition, say? Вы - за? Fri, 28 Feb 2020 15:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/28/im-all-for-it-words-worth-a69447 From the Archive: Around Nemtsov’s Murder, Key Questions Remain Deliberately Unanswered https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/27/around-nemtsovs-murder-key-questions-remain-deliberately-unanswered-a64641 On the fifth anniversary of Nemtsov's death, the case remains unsolved. Thu, 27 Feb 2020 07:12:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/27/around-nemtsovs-murder-key-questions-remain-deliberately-unanswered-a64641 In the West, Russia Backs Chaos, not Candidates https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/25/in-the-west-russia-backs-chaos-not-candidates-a69404 As long as the Russian people see democracy in the West as a failure, they will have lower expectations of their own government. Tue, 25 Feb 2020 10:11:44 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/25/in-the-west-russia-backs-chaos-not-candidates-a69404 Surkov’s End and the KPIocrats’ Triumph https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/19/surkovs-end-and-the-kpiocrats-triumph-a69350 What the exit of Kremlin's ‘grey cardinal’ tells us about late Putinism. Wed, 19 Feb 2020 11:55:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/19/surkovs-end-and-the-kpiocrats-triumph-a69350 Breathing Out and Breathing In https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/14/breathing-out-and-breathing-in-a69293 All about being in love, breathing, and time flying. Fri, 14 Feb 2020 16:10:36 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/14/breathing-out-and-breathing-in-a69293 Don’t Expect an Economic Miracle in Putin’s Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/14/dont-expect-an-economic-miracle-in-putins-russia-a69289 The main task of Putin’s new economic policy will be to collect as much in taxes as possible. Fri, 14 Feb 2020 08:49:51 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/14/dont-expect-an-economic-miracle-in-putins-russia-a69289 Russia-Turkey Alliance Is Beginning to Unravel in Syria https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/13/russia-turkey-alliance-is-beginning-to-unravel-in-syria-a69282 The collapse of the “Astana format” would jeopardize the conflict settlement system in Syria that Russia has spent so much time constructing. Thu, 13 Feb 2020 15:16:19 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/13/russia-turkey-alliance-is-beginning-to-unravel-in-syria-a69282 Early State Duma Elections? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/12/early-state-duma-elections-a69267 Will State Duma elections — currently scheduled for September 19, 2021 — be pushed forward? Wed, 12 Feb 2020 15:22:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/12/early-state-duma-elections-a69267 Oatmeal and Water: The Thinning Belarus-Russia Relationship https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/12/oatmeal-and-water-the-thinning-belarus-russia-relationship-a69266 A row over energy prices is a sign that Belarus and Russia are set to have a cooler and more pragmatic relationship. Wed, 12 Feb 2020 14:56:43 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/12/oatmeal-and-water-the-thinning-belarus-russia-relationship-a69266 The Return of Stalinist Show Trials https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/11/the-return-of-stalinist-show-trials-a69245 The extreme sentences handed down to defendants in what is being called the “Network Case” is an ominous sign. Tue, 11 Feb 2020 16:05:27 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/11/the-return-of-stalinist-show-trials-a69245 The Russian Blahs https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/07/the-russian-blahs-a69206 Feeling off? Not great, but not awful? No problem! Russian has a word for it. Fri, 07 Feb 2020 14:08:21 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/07/the-russian-blahs-a69206 Putin Discovers the Pain of Being Erdogan’s Pal https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/07/putin-discovers-the-pain-of-being-erdogans-pal-a69200 From Syria to Libya, Turkey's brinkmanship is putting Russia in an awkward place. Fri, 07 Feb 2020 09:49:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/07/putin-discovers-the-pain-of-being-erdogans-pal-a69200 Will Russia Deliver the S-400 to Iran After Ukrainian Passenger Plane Downing? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/05/russia-s-400-iran-ukrainian-passenger-plane-a69174 Moscow needs to figure out how to maintain ties with Tehran’s opponents without missing the opportunity to sell defense systems. Wed, 05 Feb 2020 11:39:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/05/russia-s-400-iran-ukrainian-passenger-plane-a69174 Why Brexit Won’t Affect EU-Russia Relations https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/05/why-brexit-wont-affect-eu-russia-relations-a69168 Many things will change radically, but despite some predictions, relations with Russia look set to remain the same. Wed, 05 Feb 2020 08:47:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/02/05/why-brexit-wont-affect-eu-russia-relations-a69168 Fixing It Up the Russian Way https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/31/fixing-it-up-the-russian-way-a69113 Today I write about a Russian word I want to import into English: ремонт. Fri, 31 Jan 2020 13:45:03 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/31/fixing-it-up-the-russian-way-a69113 Goodbye, Palestine! Why Trump’s ‘Peace Deal’ Is Good for Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/31/goodbye-palestine-why-trumps-peace-deal-is-good-for-moscow-a69121 The U.S. plan pushes for recognition of annexed territories — a welcome precedent for Russia’s hold over Crimea. Fri, 31 Jan 2020 13:24:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/31/goodbye-palestine-why-trumps-peace-deal-is-good-for-moscow-a69121 On Brexit Day, Britain Is Ready to Start a New Chapter https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/31/on-brexit-day-britain-is-ready-to-start-a-new-chapter-a69114 Today the UK undergoes a significant change. Fri, 31 Jan 2020 10:11:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/31/on-brexit-day-britain-is-ready-to-start-a-new-chapter-a69114 Oil Spoils the Russia-Belarus Romance https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/29/oil-spoils-the-russia-belarus-romance-a69084 Belarus is using oil to make a political statement. Wed, 29 Jan 2020 12:37:09 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/29/oil-spoils-the-russia-belarus-romance-a69084 The Distortions of Holocaust History by Russia and Poland Are a Disgrace https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/27/the-distortions-of-holocaust-history-by-russia-and-poland-are-a-disgrace-a69057 Both presidents apparently want to create the impression that the disease of anti-Semitism is somebody else’s problem. Mon, 27 Jan 2020 14:03:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/27/the-distortions-of-holocaust-history-by-russia-and-poland-are-a-disgrace-a69057 Shame On You! https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/24/shame-on-you-a69027 Do I feel more shame in Russian or do I just talk about it more? Fri, 24 Jan 2020 12:33:16 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/24/shame-on-you-a69027 Putin Puts Russia Inc. Under New Management https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/23/putin-puts-russia-inc-under-new-management-a69019 The appointment of a new government doesn't necessarily signal growth. Thu, 23 Jan 2020 10:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/23/putin-puts-russia-inc-under-new-management-a69019 Putin’s Demographic Revival Is A Pipe Dream https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/23/putins-demographic-revival-is-a-pipe-dream-a69005 The latest proposals laid out by the president are simply too little, too late. Thu, 23 Jan 2020 08:10:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/23/putins-demographic-revival-is-a-pipe-dream-a69005 Putin's Biggest Surprise: Seeking a Strong Successor https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/22/putins-biggest-surprise-seeking-a-strong-successor-a69001 The amendments don’t say who will head up the State Council, but they do make it clear it is to be formed by the president. Wed, 22 Jan 2020 09:00:38 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/22/putins-biggest-surprise-seeking-a-strong-successor-a69001 Chinese Dreams, Russian Realities https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/21/chinese-dreams-russian-realities-a68984 Positive changes in Russia’s economic environment have come despite Mr. Putin’s long rule, not because of it. Tue, 21 Jan 2020 10:42:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/21/chinese-dreams-russian-realities-a68984 Russia Prepares for a New Tandemocracy https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/russia-prepares-for-new-tandemocracy-a68967 Putin’s proposed amendments to various roles amount to something resembling an insurance policy. Mon, 20 Jan 2020 13:29:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/russia-prepares-for-new-tandemocracy-a68967 Putin’s Changes Might Set Russia on the Right Path https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/putins-changes-might-set-russia-on-the-right-path-a68937 Political centralization has historically served as a major impediment to Russia’s democratization. Mon, 20 Jan 2020 07:32:24 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/putins-changes-might-set-russia-on-the-right-path-a68937 50 Ways to Leave Your Government https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/50-ways-to-leave-your-government-words-worth-a68946 The resignation of the Russian government produced a great crop of humor. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 15:31:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/50-ways-to-leave-your-government-words-worth-a68946 Russians Have Little Say in Their Future https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/russians-have-little-say-in-their-future-a68952 Putin’s revamp underlines the extent to which the status quo rules. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 15:04:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/russians-have-little-say-in-their-future-a68952 How Will Putin’s Reforms Pan Out for Russian Business? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/how-will-putins-reforms-pan-out-for-russian-business-a68944 By addressing the “2024 problem” early Putin has given the investment community some breathing room. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 13:42:53 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/how-will-putins-reforms-pan-out-for-russian-business-a68944 Planning for a (Not So) Post-Putin Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/planning-for-a-not-so-post-putin-russia-a68931 The president has made it clear that no one is going anywhere. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 07:48:49 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/planning-for-a-not-so-post-putin-russia-a68931