The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/opinion The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Tue, 21 Jan 2020 10:40:13 +0100 600 Russia Prepares for a New Tandemocracy https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/russia-prepares-for-new-tandemocracy-a68967 Putin’s proposed amendments to various roles amount to something resembling an insurance policy. Mon, 20 Jan 2020 13:29:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/russia-prepares-for-new-tandemocracy-a68967 Putin’s Changes Might Set Russia on the Right Path https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/putins-changes-might-set-russia-on-the-right-path-a68937 Political centralization has historically served as a major impediment to Russia’s democratization. Mon, 20 Jan 2020 07:32:24 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/putins-changes-might-set-russia-on-the-right-path-a68937 50 Ways to Leave Your Government https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/50-ways-to-leave-your-government-words-worth-a68946 The resignation of the Russian government produced a great crop of humor. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 15:31:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/50-ways-to-leave-your-government-words-worth-a68946 Russians Have Little Say in Their Future https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/russians-have-little-say-in-their-future-a68952 Putin’s revamp underlines the extent to which the status quo rules. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 15:04:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/russians-have-little-say-in-their-future-a68952 How Will Putin’s Reforms Pan Out for Russian Business? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/how-will-putins-reforms-pan-out-for-russian-business-a68944 By addressing the “2024 problem” early Putin has given the investment community some breathing room. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 13:42:53 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/how-will-putins-reforms-pan-out-for-russian-business-a68944 Planning for a (Not So) Post-Putin Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/planning-for-a-not-so-post-putin-russia-a68931 The president has made it clear that no one is going anywhere. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 07:48:49 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/planning-for-a-not-so-post-putin-russia-a68931 Russia’s New Prime Minister Is a Bureaucratic Superman https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/16/russias-new-prime-minister-is-a-bureaucratic-superman-a68935 Mishustin is a new kind of Russian prime minister suited to Putin’s evolving political goals. Thu, 16 Jan 2020 14:31:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/16/russias-new-prime-minister-is-a-bureaucratic-superman-a68935 Putin's Late New Year’s Gift for Russia’s Elites https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/16/putins-late-new-years-gift-for-russias-elites-a68925 Putin has diffused political power enough that elites should feel reassured they will wield influence after 2024. Thu, 16 Jan 2020 09:16:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/16/putins-late-new-years-gift-for-russias-elites-a68925 Putin's New Plan to Hold Power Forever https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/15/putins-new-plan-to-hold-power-forever-a68922 Russia’s real constitution is in Putin’s head. That’s where the missing details will come from, too. Wed, 15 Jan 2020 17:56:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/15/putins-new-plan-to-hold-power-forever-a68922 Beyond the Hype of Russia’s Hypersonic Weapons https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/15/russias-hypersonic-weapons-a68907 The much-touted Avangard system became operational at the end of last year. Wed, 15 Jan 2020 09:36:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/15/russias-hypersonic-weapons-a68907 Iran Admitted to Shooting Down Ukraine's Airliner. Why Hasn't Russia Done the Same With MH17? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/11/iran-downing-ukraine-airliner-russia-mh17-a68867 Without owning up to its mistake, Russia will forever be remembered as the country that just kept lying. Sat, 11 Jan 2020 21:28:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/11/iran-downing-ukraine-airliner-russia-mh17-a68867 The Key Words of 2019 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/10/the-key-words-of-2019-a68858 What were the words of the year for 2019? And am I Cassandra? Fri, 10 Jan 2020 15:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/10/the-key-words-of-2019-a68858 Putin’s Latest Obsession: A New World War II Narrative https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/10/putins-latest-obsession-a-new-world-war-ii-narrative-a68856 Russia’s global power is still based on some important spoils of World War II.  Fri, 10 Jan 2020 08:13:15 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/10/putins-latest-obsession-a-new-world-war-ii-narrative-a68856 Russia’s Role in Syria is Changing https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/09/russias-role-syria-changing-a68823 Moscow might face difficulties in promoting its vision of a political settlement, while competition with Tehran is growing. Thu, 09 Jan 2020 07:41:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/09/russias-role-syria-changing-a68823 The Iran Crisis Can Be a Boost for Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/08/the-iran-crisis-can-be-a-boost-for-russia-a68835 If Syria becomes the setting for a clash between Washington and Tehran, it could be a major problem for Moscow. Wed, 08 Jan 2020 10:29:39 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/08/the-iran-crisis-can-be-a-boost-for-russia-a68835 Putin Now Needs a Plan B on Iran https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/07/putin-now-needs-a-plan-b-on-iran-a68820 Qassem Soleimani’s death may force a change in the Russian calculus involving Syria, Iran and Turkey. Tue, 07 Jan 2020 08:34:14 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/07/putin-now-needs-a-plan-b-on-iran-a68820 Putin Can Cautiously Enjoy the Iran Drama From the Audience https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/03/putin-can-cautiously-enjoy-the-iran-drama-from-the-audience-a68810 Tehran and Moscow have certain interests in common, especially in minimizing U.S. influence in the Middle East, but they are at best frenemies. Fri, 03 Jan 2020 17:47:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/03/putin-can-cautiously-enjoy-the-iran-drama-from-the-audience-a68810 Russians Are Tired of Stability https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/03/russians-are-tired-of-stability-a68806 The lack of clear economic progress contributed to mounting discontent in 2019. Fri, 03 Jan 2020 10:33:59 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/03/russians-are-tired-of-stability-a68806 The Future of Putin’s Information Autocracy https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/02/the-future-of-putins-information-autocracy-a68792 The Kremlin will be forced to dedicate a growing share of resources to silencing the informed. Thu, 02 Jan 2020 07:51:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/02/the-future-of-putins-information-autocracy-a68792 Russia in 2020. Like 2019, But More So https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/01/russia-in-2020-like-2019-but-more-so-a68780 Putin and his entourage seem to think "better safe than sorry." Wed, 01 Jan 2020 08:25:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/01/russia-in-2020-like-2019-but-more-so-a68780 Russia Is Reverting to Stalinist Patterns https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/31/russia-is-falling-back-into-stalinist-patterns-a68781 A prologue to the 2020s in Russia. Tue, 31 Dec 2019 08:15:39 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/31/russia-is-falling-back-into-stalinist-patterns-a68781 Putin’s Grand Gas Project Makes Sense Now https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/26/putins-grand-gas-project-makes-sense-now-a68749 But not exactly in the way the Kremlin wanted. Thu, 26 Dec 2019 08:34:32 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/26/putins-grand-gas-project-makes-sense-now-a68749 If Putin Were to Leave Tomorrow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/25/if-putin-were-to-leave-us-tomorrow-a68742 What would the first 90 days after a hypothetical death of the head of state look like? Wed, 25 Dec 2019 15:14:11 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/25/if-putin-were-to-leave-us-tomorrow-a68742 Did Macron Hand the Balkans to Russia? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/23/did-macron-hand-the-balkans-to-russia-a68722 With Macron turning his sights on engineering a reset with Moscow, the Kremlin is unlikely to jeopardize such favorable dynamics by making disruptive moves in the Western Balkans. Mon, 23 Dec 2019 11:46:10 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/23/did-macron-hand-the-balkans-to-russia-a68722 Shorn of Prejudices, the Lubyanka Shooting Is a Familiar Story https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/shorn-of-prejudices-the-lubyanka-shooting-is-a-familiar-story-a68707 The shooter may have been a Russian, wielding a Russian gun, targeting a Russian institution, but the story is a universal one. Fri, 20 Dec 2019 15:18:35 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/shorn-of-prejudices-the-lubyanka-shooting-is-a-familiar-story-a68707 Terms, Prerogatives and Matters of Taste https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/terms-prerogatives-and-matters-of-taste-a68698 The interesting bits from Mr. Putin's press conference. Fri, 20 Dec 2019 12:37:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/terms-prerogatives-and-matters-of-taste-a68698 Ukraine’s Zelenskiy Showed He’s the Anti-Putin in 2019 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/ukraines-zelenskiy-showed-hes-the-anti-putin-in-2019-a68699 He’s the only kind of threat Russian President Vladimir Putin has any reason to fear. Fri, 20 Dec 2019 12:18:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/ukraines-zelenskiy-showed-hes-the-anti-putin-in-2019-a68699 Surviving Against the Odds: How Russian Media Learned to Adapt in the 2010s https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/19/surviving-against-the-odds-how-russian-media-learned-to-adopt-in-the-2010s-a68687 For a while, it looked like independent media would disappear in Russia. But that is not how things turned out. Thu, 19 Dec 2019 15:50:11 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/19/surviving-against-the-odds-how-russian-media-learned-to-adopt-in-the-2010s-a68687 Russia Is Capitalizing on the West's Failures in Libya https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/18/russia-is-capitalizing-on-the-wests-failures-in-libya-a68664 Russia’s increased involvement in Libya marks a turning point in the conflict, making an Ankara-Kremlin rapprochement all the more likely. Wed, 18 Dec 2019 13:03:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/18/russia-is-capitalizing-on-the-wests-failures-in-libya-a68664 What Could Russia’s Economy Look Like After Putin? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/17/what-might-russias-post-putin-economy-look-like-a68644 The economy is a key battleground among Putin’s deputies jockeying for position ahead of 2024. Tue, 17 Dec 2019 14:11:16 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/17/what-might-russias-post-putin-economy-look-like-a68644 How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the National Projects https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/17/how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-national-projects-a68647 Putin’s ambitious National Projects won’t turn Russia’s economy around, and they do not have to. Tue, 17 Dec 2019 12:04:19 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/17/how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-national-projects-a68647 In 2019, Putin Couldn’t Win Back Russia’s Love https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/14/in-2019-putin-couldnt-win-back-russias-love-a68626 It was a year in which the Russian leader increased his influence abroad while losing it at home. Sat, 14 Dec 2019 13:06:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/14/in-2019-putin-couldnt-win-back-russias-love-a68626 Why the Normandy Summit Was Not a Waste of Time https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/12/why-the-normandy-summit-was-not-a-waste-of-time-a68599 Stabilizing the area around the line of contact is the bare minimum outcome of talks on Ukraine that all sides consider necessary. Thu, 12 Dec 2019 15:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/12/why-the-normandy-summit-was-not-a-waste-of-time-a68599 Russian Artist Puts $150,000 Banana to Shame https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/12/russian-artist-puts-150000-banana-to-shame-a68580 This plaque from a bench in New York City's Central Park is art as political protest, tabloid journalism and charity all rolled into one. Thu, 12 Dec 2019 09:33:44 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/12/russian-artist-puts-150000-banana-to-shame-a68580 Is the Kremlin Finally Ready to Play Hardball With Belarus? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/is-the-kremlin-finally-ready-to-play-hardball-with-belarus-a68561 Russia needs Belarus and Lukashenko to serve as an alluring example to other post-Soviet rulers of how beneficial integration with Russia can be. Wed, 11 Dec 2019 12:24:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/is-the-kremlin-finally-ready-to-play-hardball-with-belarus-a68561 The Life and Fate of Yury Luzhkov, the Embodiment of Moscow State Capitalism https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/the-life-and-fate-of-yuri-luzhkov-the-embodiment-of-moscow-state-capitalism-a68559 Remembering the rise and fall of Moscow's legendary mayor. Wed, 11 Dec 2019 10:35:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/the-life-and-fate-of-yuri-luzhkov-the-embodiment-of-moscow-state-capitalism-a68559 I Am a Russian World Champion and I Demand Answers https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/i-am-a-russian-world-champion-and-i-demand-answers-a68545 Russian World Champion Maria Lasitskene writes an open letter criticizing sporting officials after new four-year WADA ban. Tue, 10 Dec 2019 11:48:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/i-am-a-russian-world-champion-and-i-demand-answers-a68545 4-Year Doping Ban on Athletes Should Scare All Russians https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/4-year-doping-ban-on-athletes-should-scare-all-russians-a68542 Russia may lose three world championships it’s set to host — volleyball in 2022, ice hockey in 2023 and water sports in 2025. Tue, 10 Dec 2019 10:37:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/4-year-doping-ban-on-athletes-should-scare-all-russians-a68542 Chechnya’s Awkward Anniversary https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/chechnyas-awkard-anniversary-a68538 Twenty-five years ago, the Russian government went to war in Chechnya. Few will be marking this anniversary. Tue, 10 Dec 2019 09:37:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/chechnyas-awkard-anniversary-a68538 In British Elections, a (Non) Debate on Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/09/in-british-elections-a-non-debate-on-russia-a68525 Neither Labour nor the Conservative Party is willing or concerned enough to spend political capital to prioritize reviving U.K.–Russia relations. Mon, 09 Dec 2019 13:28:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/09/in-british-elections-a-non-debate-on-russia-a68525 A Russian Holiday Party Primer https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/06/a-russian-holiday-party-primer-a68509 A (mostly comic) guide to holiday partying: where to go, what to wear, and what to bring. Fri, 06 Dec 2019 16:24:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/06/a-russian-holiday-party-primer-a68509 Facebook Just Can’t Seem to Beat the Russians https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/06/facebook-just-cant-seem-to-beat-the-russians-a68512 Social media companies' defenses are routinely bypassed by an entire manipulation industry, largely based in Russia. Fri, 06 Dec 2019 15:45:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/06/facebook-just-cant-seem-to-beat-the-russians-a68512 Kremlin’s Cruel LGBT Crackdown Has Outlived Its Usefulness https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/kremlins-cruel-lgbt-crackdown-has-outlived-its-usefulness-a68484 The state itself no longer remembers why it began to target “gay propaganda,” or what threat it believed it posed. Thu, 05 Dec 2019 09:53:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/kremlins-cruel-lgbt-crackdown-has-outlived-its-usefulness-a68484 What the New EU Leadership Should Do About Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/what-the-new-eu-leadership-should-do-about-russia-a68482 There must be a sober assessment of what is and is not possible between the EU and Russia. Thu, 05 Dec 2019 09:21:38 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/what-the-new-eu-leadership-should-do-about-russia-a68482 Putin Is Seeing ‘Foreign Agents’ Everywhere https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/04/putin-is-seeing-foreign-agents-everywhere-a68465 I'm only one step from becoming a Russian "foreign agent." Wed, 04 Dec 2019 09:06:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/04/putin-is-seeing-foreign-agents-everywhere-a68465 How 10,000 Little Putins Rule Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/03/how-10000-little-putins-rule-russia-a68446 The combination of aggressive conformism and petty indifference is the basis of the regime’s popular support. Tue, 03 Dec 2019 09:45:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/03/how-10000-little-putins-rule-russia-a68446 U.S. Inspection of New Russian Missile May Revive Stalled Arms Control Talks https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/02/us-inspection-of-new-russian-missile-may-revive-stalled-arms-control-talks-a68437 Russia made positive moves to extend the New START treaty late last month. Mon, 02 Dec 2019 15:50:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/02/us-inspection-of-new-russian-missile-may-revive-stalled-arms-control-talks-a68437 In a Year of Global Chaos, Russia Remained a Reliable Partner https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/02/in-a-year-marked-by-global-chaos-russia-remained-a-reliable-partner-a68426 The main task now is to ensure that Russia's momentum is not lost going into 2020. Mon, 02 Dec 2019 11:35:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/02/in-a-year-marked-by-global-chaos-russia-remained-a-reliable-partner-a68426 Merry Happy Holiday to You https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/29/merry-happy-holiday-to-you-a68405 It's beginning to look a lot like Holiday Central. Fri, 29 Nov 2019 15:50:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/29/merry-happy-holiday-to-you-a68405 Putin Is Learning the Hard Way That in Sports Rules Still Matter https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/27/putin-is-learning-the-hard-way-that-in-sports-rules-still-matter-a68350 We promised to be honest but fabricated the truth, again. Wed, 27 Nov 2019 15:39:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/27/putin-is-learning-the-hard-way-that-in-sports-rules-still-matter-a68350