The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Thu, 14 Nov 2019 17:05:58 +0100 600 From the Archive: The 1990s Moscow Metro, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/13/from-the-archive-the-1990s-moscow-metro-in-photos-a68154 Even the Moscow metro isn't immune to a dose of 90s nostalgia. Wed, 13 Nov 2019 16:23:16 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/13/from-the-archive-the-1990s-moscow-metro-in-photos-a68154 Polenov Retrospective Opens at the Tretyakov Gallery https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/11/polenov-retrospective-opens-at-the-tretyakov-gallery-a68121 The Tretyakov Gallery's retrospective of works by Vasily Polenov is the season's big hit. Mon, 11 Nov 2019 12:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/11/polenov-retrospective-opens-at-the-tretyakov-gallery-a68121 'Seasoned Socialism: Gender & Food in Late Soviet Everyday Life' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/09/seasoned-socialism-a68090 Fascinating and fun required reading for students of Russian and Soviet literature, history, and politics. Sat, 09 Nov 2019 10:17:43 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/09/seasoned-socialism-a68090 Luxurious 19th-Century Apartments Go Up for Sale in St. Petersburg After Restoration https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/09/luxurious-19th-century-apartments-go-up-for-sale-in-stpetersburg-after-restoration-a68059 Sat, 09 Nov 2019 09:12:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/09/luxurious-19th-century-apartments-go-up-for-sale-in-stpetersburg-after-restoration-a68059 'The Frenchman' Premieres in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/07/the-frenchman-premieres-in-moscow-a68053 Brilliant acting, pitch-perfect casting, and visual authenticity make "The Frenchman" a must-see film. Thu, 07 Nov 2019 13:44:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/07/the-frenchman-premieres-in-moscow-a68053 St. Petersburg's Festival of Lights Brightens Up the Darkness https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/05/st-petersburgs-festival-of-lights-brightens-up-the-darkness-a68042 The city’s historic buildings came to life with dazzling displays of light, sound and animation. Tue, 05 Nov 2019 14:57:25 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/05/st-petersburgs-festival-of-lights-brightens-up-the-darkness-a68042 A Russian Pensioner's Creative Recycling Project https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/05/a-russian-pensioners-creative-recycling-project-a68038 A small town has a prize-winning children's playground thanks to a generous pensioner. Tue, 05 Nov 2019 11:00:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/05/a-russian-pensioners-creative-recycling-project-a68038 'A Brown Man in Russia: Lessons Learned on the Trans-Siberian' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/02/a-brown-man-in-russia-lessons-learned-on-the-trans-siberian-a67990 From Moscow to Mongolia, Vijay Menon discovers more than he could have imagined. Sat, 02 Nov 2019 08:22:18 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/02/a-brown-man-in-russia-lessons-learned-on-the-trans-siberian-a67990 Alexander Pushkin’s St. Petersburg Home Goes on Sale for $860K https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/01/alexander-pushkin-st-petersburg-home-goes-sale-a67997 Pushkin penned “The Captain’s Daughter,” “A History of Pugachev” and other classic works there. Fri, 01 Nov 2019 10:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/01/alexander-pushkin-st-petersburg-home-goes-sale-a67997 Hundreds of Muscovites Brave the First Snow for Yandex's New Smart Speaker https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/31/hundreds-of-muscovites-brave-the-first-snow-for-new-yandex-service-a67988 People could exchange their vintage speakers, tape recorders and record players for the smart speaker. Thu, 31 Oct 2019 14:11:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/31/hundreds-of-muscovites-brave-the-first-snow-for-new-yandex-service-a67988 Gargoyles and Griffins on Moscow Buildings https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/30/gargoyles-and-griffins-on-moscow-buildings-a67856 During the Art Nouveau period, Moscow facades acquired many fantastic creatures. Wed, 30 Oct 2019 15:07:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/30/gargoyles-and-griffins-on-moscow-buildings-a67856 Yekaterinburg Ural Industrial Biennale of Contemporary Art https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/30/yekaterinburg-ural-industrial-biennale-of-contemporary-art-a67976 More really non-provincial art in the Russian provinces - and a great reason to visit Yekaterinburg. Wed, 30 Oct 2019 13:03:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/30/yekaterinburg-ural-industrial-biennale-of-contemporary-art-a67976 On This Day Victims of Political Repressions Are Honored https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/30/otd-victims-of-political-repressions-are-honored-a67970 The history of this day mirrors, darkly, the history of the repressions themselves. Wed, 30 Oct 2019 10:57:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/30/otd-victims-of-political-repressions-are-honored-a67970 Ivanovo: A City in Search of a New Identity https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/29/ivanovo-a-city-in-search-of-a-new-identity-a67959 Small Russian cities have rich and unexpected artistic and architectural legacies. Tue, 29 Oct 2019 12:28:08 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/29/ivanovo-a-city-in-search-of-a-new-identity-a67959 Art Against Domestic Violence: Austrian YouAreNotAlone Show Opens in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/28/austrian-domestic-violence-exhibition-a67931 The show is held in a private apartment to bring the subject home. Mon, 28 Oct 2019 16:46:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/28/austrian-domestic-violence-exhibition-a67931 Vyborg Restoration: How Russia’s Most Scandinavian Town Is Coming Back to Life https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/27/vyborg-restoration-how-russias-most-scandinavian-town-back-to-life-a67925 The once decaying town is undergoing a $26.5 million restoration. Sun, 27 Oct 2019 06:21:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/27/vyborg-restoration-how-russias-most-scandinavian-town-back-to-life-a67925 Maxim D. Shrayer's 'A Russian Immigrant: Three Novellas' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/26/maxim-d-shrayers-a-russian-immigrant-three-novellas-a67920 Shrayer's stories draw you into the worlds of the present and past. Sat, 26 Oct 2019 12:06:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/26/maxim-d-shrayers-a-russian-immigrant-three-novellas-a67920 Russian Restaurant Group Joins Meatless Monday Movement https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/25/russian-restaurant-group-joins-meatless-monday-movement-a67901 Go vegetarian on Mondays and save money. Fri, 25 Oct 2019 11:05:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/25/russian-restaurant-group-joins-meatless-monday-movement-a67901 Contemporary Art Moves Out of Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/24/contemporary-art-moves-out-of-moscow-a67894 A new project by Simon Mraz of the Austrian Cultural Forum sends art to where life is: the suburbs. Thu, 24 Oct 2019 16:01:30 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/24/contemporary-art-moves-out-of-moscow-a67894 On This Day in 1938 Writer Venedikt Yerofeyev Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/24/on-this-day-in-1938-writer-venedikt-yerofeyev-was-born-a67882 Venedikt Yerofeyev's enormous talent was never entirely realized. Thu, 24 Oct 2019 09:09:28 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/24/on-this-day-in-1938-writer-venedikt-yerofeyev-was-born-a67882 Yasnaya Polyana Book Prizes for 2019 Announced https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/22/yasnaya-polyana-book-prizes-for-2019-announced-a67854 Here are some books to add to your reading list. Tue, 22 Oct 2019 13:22:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/22/yasnaya-polyana-book-prizes-for-2019-announced-a67854 On This Day Legendary Goalkeeper Lev Yashin Would’ve Turned 90 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/22/on-this-day-legendary-goalkeeper-lev-yashin-wouldve-turned-90-a67853 Nicknamed “the black spider” for his all-black uniform and incredible reflexes, Yashin quickly became known as the best goalkeeper in the world. Tue, 22 Oct 2019 12:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/22/on-this-day-legendary-goalkeeper-lev-yashin-wouldve-turned-90-a67853 Moscow Rolls Out the Runway for Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/21/moscow-rolls-out-the-runway-for-mercedes-benz-fashion-week-a67819 The who's-who of Russian style flocked to the front row to catch a glimpse at the fierce fashions. Mon, 21 Oct 2019 17:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/21/moscow-rolls-out-the-runway-for-mercedes-benz-fashion-week-a67819 'The Worker and Kolkhoz Woman' Dance Off Their Pedestal https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/21/the-worker-and-kolkhoz-woman-dance-off-their-pedestal-a67827 Pavel Kaplevich's funny, nutty, snarky opera buffa played the Zaryadye Concert hall Saturday night. Mon, 21 Oct 2019 13:45:05 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/21/the-worker-and-kolkhoz-woman-dance-off-their-pedestal-a67827 Tolstoy’s 'War and Peace' Left Russia for the First Time https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/18/tolstoys-war-and-peace-left-russia-for-the-first-time-a67787 Tolstoy's penned words about the horror of war will be on display until March 2020. Fri, 18 Oct 2019 15:08:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/18/tolstoys-war-and-peace-left-russia-for-the-first-time-a67787 Kolomenskoye: Moscow's Hidden Gem https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/18/kolomenskoye-moscows-hidden-gem-a67798 The capital's southern Kolomenskoye estate is a true gem well worth a visit. Fri, 18 Oct 2019 14:39:03 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/18/kolomenskoye-moscows-hidden-gem-a67798 A Celebration of Gennady Bodrov's 'A Simple Motif' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/16/gennady-bodrov-simple-motive-a67756 2019 marks the 20th anniversary of the artist Gennady Bodrov's tragic death. Wed, 16 Oct 2019 12:44:52 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/16/gennady-bodrov-simple-motive-a67756 On This Day in 1990 Mikhail Gorbachev Was Awarded the Nobel Peace Prize https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/15/otd-gorbachev-awarded-nobel-peace-prize-in-1990-a67734 The Nobel Committee recognized Gorbachev's role in initiating and supporting the movement for peace. Tue, 15 Oct 2019 12:14:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/15/otd-gorbachev-awarded-nobel-peace-prize-in-1990-a67734 Moscow On Stage in October and November https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/14/moscow-on-stage-in-october-and-november-a67724 We've already got our tickets. Mon, 14 Oct 2019 14:31:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/14/moscow-on-stage-in-october-and-november-a67724 Russia Storms Its Way Into Euro 2020 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/14/russia-storms-its-way-into-euro-2020-a67720 Team Russia thrashes Cyprus to make it to UEFA Euro 2020. Mon, 14 Oct 2019 12:52:27 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/14/russia-storms-its-way-into-euro-2020-a67720 'Godless Utopia: The Anti-Religious Campaign In Russia' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/12/godless-utopia-the-anti-religious-campaign-in-russia-a67699 A book as beautifully designed as it is fascinating and timely. Sat, 12 Oct 2019 12:03:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/12/godless-utopia-the-anti-religious-campaign-in-russia-a67699 Russia's Golden Fall Comes to Moscow's Historic Kuskovo Estate https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/12/russias-golden-fall-comes-to-moscows-historic-kuskovo-estate-a67689 The Kuskovo Estate is one of the most picturesque places in Russia's capital — especially when it's covered in fall foliage. Sat, 12 Oct 2019 09:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/12/russias-golden-fall-comes-to-moscows-historic-kuskovo-estate-a67689 Breaking Wind the Russian Way https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/11/breaking-wind-the-russian-way-a67686 By popular demand, scatological reflections. Fri, 11 Oct 2019 14:44:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/11/breaking-wind-the-russian-way-a67686 The Many Lives of the Tsar's Village https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/10/the-many-lives-of-the-tsars-village-a67675 Autumn is a perfect time for a trip out of the northern capital and into the past. Thu, 10 Oct 2019 14:28:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/10/the-many-lives-of-the-tsars-village-a67675 On This Day Marina Tsvetayeva Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/08/onthisday-marina-tsvetayeva-a67638 Marina Tsvetayeva was born in Moscow in 1892. Tue, 08 Oct 2019 15:12:21 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/08/onthisday-marina-tsvetayeva-a67638 Vladimir Aniskin and His Invisible Masterpieces https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/08/vladimir-aniskin-and-his-invisible-masterpieces-a67628 Nikolai Leskov’s fictional Lefty From Tula has come to life, brilliantly, in Novosibirsk. Tue, 08 Oct 2019 13:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/08/vladimir-aniskin-and-his-invisible-masterpieces-a67628 Cooking Moscow Market Bounty: 'That Eggplant Thing' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/06/cooking-moscow-market-bounty-that-eggplant-thing-a67606 Moscow's markets are overflowing with eggplant right now. Jennifer Eremeeva to the rescue. Sun, 06 Oct 2019 14:52:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/06/cooking-moscow-market-bounty-that-eggplant-thing-a67606 Summer Falls Away, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/05/summer-falls-away-in-photos-a67596 Moscow is settling into colder nights, shorter days and plenty of beautiful foliage. Sat, 05 Oct 2019 13:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/05/summer-falls-away-in-photos-a67596 The Binocular Brigade in Moscow Parks https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/05/the-binocular-brigade-in-moscow-parks-a67553 Those folks with binoculars in the Moscow woods at 6 a.m.? They're looking for a yellow wagtail. Sat, 05 Oct 2019 11:41:21 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/05/the-binocular-brigade-in-moscow-parks-a67553 Tolstoy and Gandhi: From Non-Violence to Climate Change https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/tolstoy-gandhi-non-violence-climate-change-a67602 Two exhibitions consider the legacy of these thinkers and their common themes of love and non-violence. Fri, 04 Oct 2019 16:37:31 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/tolstoy-gandhi-non-violence-climate-change-a67602 Japanese Video Game Legend Hideo Kojima Visits Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/game-design-legend-hideo-kojima-visits-russia-a67594 Kojima told a Russian talk show that he’s inspired by Soviet director Andrei Tarkovsky. Fri, 04 Oct 2019 13:19:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/game-design-legend-hideo-kojima-visits-russia-a67594 Russia Puts on the Cosplay at Moscow Comic-Con https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/russia-puts-on-the-cosplay-at-moscow-comic-con-a67588 Comic book lovers flocked to Moscow for this week's massive comic convention. Fri, 04 Oct 2019 12:47:48 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/russia-puts-on-the-cosplay-at-moscow-comic-con-a67588 The Shape of Water in St. Petersburg https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/the-shape-of-water-in-st-petersburg-a67572 Claudio Koporossy’s exhibition captures the magic within Peterhof Palace’s fountains. Fri, 04 Oct 2019 11:40:47 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/04/the-shape-of-water-in-st-petersburg-a67572 On This Day Sergei Yesenin Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/03/onthisday-yesenin-a67573 The young poet behind Russian 'imaginism' was born on Oct. 3, 1895. Thu, 03 Oct 2019 10:59:12 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/03/onthisday-yesenin-a67573 Georgian Composer Giya Kancheli Dies at 85 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/03/georgian-composer-giya-kancheli-dies-at-85-a67574 Kancheli wrote the soundtracks for some of the best-loved Soviet films. Thu, 03 Oct 2019 10:58:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/03/georgian-composer-giya-kancheli-dies-at-85-a67574 Russia’s Historic Buildings Go On the Market for 1 Ruble https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/02/russias-historic-buildings-go-on-the-market-for-1-ruble-a67537 Several “house for a ruble” programs have popped up across Russia in an effort to save historic architecture from ruin.  Wed, 02 Oct 2019 11:08:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/02/russias-historic-buildings-go-on-the-market-for-1-ruble-a67537 When the 'Forest' Came to the Fringe https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/02/when-the-forest-came-to-the-fringe-a67509 Can Russian physical theater based on Aristotle and Bibikhin be appreciated by Western audiences? Wed, 02 Oct 2019 09:52:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/10/02/when-the-forest-came-to-the-fringe-a67509 'War and Peace' Festival Brings the Past to Life in Present-Day Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/30/war-and-peace-festival-brings-the-past-to-life-in-present-day-russia-a67502 Nothing says “Russia” quite like a live re-enactment of Leo Tolstoy’s epic novel “War and Peace.” Mon, 30 Sep 2019 15:21:56 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/30/war-and-peace-festival-brings-the-past-to-life-in-present-day-russia-a67502 Tiger Day Takes the Streets in Vladivostok https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/30/tiger-day-takes-the-streets-in-vladivostok-a67495 Russia's Far East capital roared to life to raise awareness toward the Amur tiger, whose habitat is nearby. Mon, 30 Sep 2019 14:57:30 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/30/tiger-day-takes-the-streets-in-vladivostok-a67495 Director Mark Zakharov, Dead at 85 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/30/director-mark-zakharov-dead-at-85-a67499 The famed and beloved director and writer passed away early Saturday morning. Mon, 30 Sep 2019 12:22:07 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/30/director-mark-zakharov-dead-at-85-a67499