The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Tue, 21 Jan 2020 09:04:38 +0100 600 Russians Take a Frozen Dip to Celebrate Epiphany https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/russians-take-a-frozen-dip-to-celebrate-epiphany-a68959 Nothing brings you closer to heaven like a quick dip in subzero waters. Mon, 20 Jan 2020 12:31:15 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/20/russians-take-a-frozen-dip-to-celebrate-epiphany-a68959 ‘We Are Building Capitalism!’ https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/18/we-are-building-capitalism-a68914 Time travel: visit Moscow during the roaring 90s with Robert Stephenson as your guide. Sat, 18 Jan 2020 10:11:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/18/we-are-building-capitalism-a68914 From the Archive: A Real Russian Winter From the 90s https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/from-the-archive-a-real-russian-winter-from-the-90s-a68943 This winter has been one of the warmest in Moscow's history. Here's a look back at what a real winter used to look like in Russia's capital. Fri, 17 Jan 2020 15:17:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/17/from-the-archive-a-real-russian-winter-from-the-90s-a68943 Immersive Pushkin-Themed Park to Open in St. Petersburg in 2023 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/16/immersive-pushkin-themed-park-to-open-in-st-petersburg-in-2023-a68934 The iconic Russian writer's fairy-tale universe will be brought to life in a sprawling new park. Thu, 16 Jan 2020 15:30:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/16/immersive-pushkin-themed-park-to-open-in-st-petersburg-in-2023-a68934 Belarussian Writer Alexievich Starts All-Women Publishing House https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/14/belarussian-writer-alexievich-starts-all-women-publishing-house-a68892 “Men, they are everywhere, and women’s works are rarely published,” the writer said. Tue, 14 Jan 2020 13:03:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/14/belarussian-writer-alexievich-starts-all-women-publishing-house-a68892 Soviet Film Director Konstantin Bromberg Dies at 80 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/13/obit-2-a68873 He is most famous for his legendary films “The Adventures of the Robot Electronic” and “Wizards.” Mon, 13 Jan 2020 10:11:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/13/obit-2-a68873 The Best Art Innovation: Mobile Theater https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/08/the-best-art-innovation-mobile-theater-a68596 Theater through your cell: follow the walking route and listen to the story. Wed, 08 Jan 2020 09:23:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/08/the-best-art-innovation-mobile-theater-a68596 The Year's Best Art Scandal: Moscow Art Biennale https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/07/the-years-best-art-scandal-moscow-art-biennale-a68595 What is usually a multi-venue show was confined to one hall this year. Tue, 07 Jan 2020 14:49:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/07/the-years-best-art-scandal-moscow-art-biennale-a68595 The Year's Best in Art Collectors and Their Works https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/07/the-years-best-in-art-collectors-and-their-works-a68594 Moscow and St. Petersburg celebrated Russia's far-sighted collectors of art. Tue, 07 Jan 2020 10:15:34 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/07/the-years-best-in-art-collectors-and-their-works-a68594 The Year's Best in Music Festivals https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/06/the-years-best-in-music-festivals-a68590 A young music fest won awards this year. Mon, 06 Jan 2020 12:15:41 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/06/the-years-best-in-music-festivals-a68590 ‘Chernobyl’ Scores Best Miniseries Golden Globe https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/06/chernobyl-best-miniseries-golden-globe-a68812 Actor Stellan Skarsgard also won the best supporting actor award for his role on the show. Mon, 06 Jan 2020 08:21:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/06/chernobyl-best-miniseries-golden-globe-a68812 Best Retrospective: Vasily Polenov https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/04/best-retrospective-vasily-polenov-a68591 See this show before the last-week lines. Sat, 04 Jan 2020 10:14:30 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/04/best-retrospective-vasily-polenov-a68591 The Year's Most Daring Art Heist: Arkhip Kuindzhi's "Ai-Petri" https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/03/the-years-most-daring-art-heist-arkhip-kuindzhis-ai-petri-a68546 The painting was quickly recovered, and the museum changed security measures. Fri, 03 Jan 2020 12:41:20 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/03/the-years-most-daring-art-heist-arkhip-kuindzhis-ai-petri-a68546 The Year's Best in Cinema: "The Frenchman" https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/02/the-years-best-in-cinema-the-frenchman-a68468 One of the best films of 2019 was a black and white film about the Thaw period. Thu, 02 Jan 2020 09:10:06 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/02/the-years-best-in-cinema-the-frenchman-a68468 2020: The Year in Culture https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/01/2020-the-year-in-culture-a68608 What we're going to line up to see in 2020. Wed, 01 Jan 2020 09:01:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/01/01/2020-the-year-in-culture-a68608 Miniature Miracles: Russian Painted Lacquer Boxes https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/31/miniature-miracles-russian-painted-lacquer-boxes-a68714 Everything you need to know about those iconic — literally! — lacquer boxes. Tue, 31 Dec 2019 07:24:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/31/miniature-miracles-russian-painted-lacquer-boxes-a68714 Moscow Is Ready to Celebrate the New Year https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/30/moscow-is-ready-to-celebrate-the-new-year-a68779 There's just one more day before the New Year — the main Russian holiday. The city is decorated with Christmas trees, lights, seasonal markets and even snow brought from other cities for the festivities. Despite the lack of snow and unusually warm weather, Muscovites are ready to wish each other a Happy New Year, light sparklers and exchange presents, because Moscow's holiday look is unlikely to leave anyone without a festive mood. Here are some photos of Russia's capital waiting for the New Year: Mon, 30 Dec 2019 15:02:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/30/moscow-is-ready-to-celebrate-the-new-year-a68779 The Year's Best in Cinema: 'The Humorist' Directorial Debut https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/30/the-years-best-in-cinema-the-humorist-directorial-debut-a68679 Catch it online if you missed it in the theaters. Mon, 30 Dec 2019 09:34:31 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/30/the-years-best-in-cinema-the-humorist-directorial-debut-a68679 The Year's Most Scandalous Film: 'Text' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/30/the-years-most-scandalous-film-text-a68680 Gritty film about Russia today. Mon, 30 Dec 2019 09:32:17 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/30/the-years-most-scandalous-film-text-a68680 Savory Kutiya for Kolodia and Christmas https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/28/savory-kutiya-for-kolodia-and-christmas-a68760 What's kutiya? And Kolodia? Can I eat them? Do I want to? Jennifer Eremeeva tells all deliciously. Sat, 28 Dec 2019 07:20:42 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/28/savory-kutiya-for-kolodia-and-christmas-a68760 From the Archive: New Year's in 90s Moscow, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/27/2019-archive-new-year-a68454 The Russian New Year of decades past. Fri, 27 Dec 2019 15:46:08 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/27/2019-archive-new-year-a68454 The Hottest New Year's Parties in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/27/hottest-new-years-parties-in-moscow-a68759 Moscow knows how to party in the new year. Fri, 27 Dec 2019 08:45:58 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/27/hottest-new-years-parties-in-moscow-a68759 Popular Sovremennik Theater Director Volchek Dies at 86 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/27/popular-sovremennik-theater-director-volchek-dies-at-86-a68761 The Sovremennik symbolized the short-lived Soviet liberal “thaw” in the early 1960s. Fri, 27 Dec 2019 08:10:56 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/27/popular-sovremennik-theater-director-volchek-dies-at-86-a68761 Here's How Russia Celebrated Christmas Eve (in Photos) https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/25/heres-how-russia-celebrated-christmas-eve-in-photos-a68745 Russia's Catholic, Lutheran and Protestant communities held big services on Dec. 24. Wed, 25 Dec 2019 13:21:02 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/25/heres-how-russia-celebrated-christmas-eve-in-photos-a68745 Russian Jews Сelebrate Hanukkah Across the Country https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/23/russian-jews-celebrate-hanukkah-across-country-a68719 It is the 30th consecutive time that Moscow's Jews lit a menorah in the center of the capital. Mon, 23 Dec 2019 15:18:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/23/russian-jews-celebrate-hanukkah-across-country-a68719 In Russia, Church Bells Ring Out at Raves https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/21/in-russia-church-bells-ring-out-at-raves-a68709 Who says church bells can't ring to a techno beat? Sat, 21 Dec 2019 11:00:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/21/in-russia-church-bells-ring-out-at-raves-a68709 5 Best Events in Moscow's 'Journey to Christmas' Fest https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/5-best-events-in-moscows-journey-to-christmas-fest-a68684 The festival shines even if the weather doesn't. Fri, 20 Dec 2019 14:26:50 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/5-best-events-in-moscows-journey-to-christmas-fest-a68684 5 Ways to Celebrate the Holidays in St. Petersburg https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/5-ways-to-celebrate-the-holidays-in-st-petersburg-a68682 Five of our favorite things to do in the northern capital over the holiday season. Fri, 20 Dec 2019 12:44:40 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/5-ways-to-celebrate-the-holidays-in-st-petersburg-a68682 Russian Ballet's Use of Blackface Ignites Online Controversy https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/russian-ballets-use-of-blackface-ignites-online-controversy-a68685 Prominent African-American ballet dancer Misty Copeland said the Bolshoi Theater's use of blackface highlights “the reality of the ballet world.” Fri, 20 Dec 2019 10:03:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/20/russian-ballets-use-of-blackface-ignites-online-controversy-a68685 Notable Deaths in Russia in 2019 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/18/notable-deaths-in-russia-in-2019-a68589 We mark the passing of many beloved public figures. Wed, 18 Dec 2019 12:10:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/18/notable-deaths-in-russia-in-2019-a68589 Best New Band: Shortparis https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/18/best-new-band-shortparis-a68593 This politically engaged band is one to watch. Wed, 18 Dec 2019 09:37:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/18/best-new-band-shortparis-a68593 International Ded Moroz Convention Comes to Moscow’s VDNKh https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/16/international-ded-moroz-convention-comes-to-moscows-vdnkh-a68630 More than 100 winter wizards came all the way from different parts of Russia and countries like Armenia, Belarus and Moldova. Mon, 16 Dec 2019 13:37:28 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/16/international-ded-moroz-convention-comes-to-moscows-vdnkh-a68630 Judith Heneghan's Novel 'Snegurochka' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/14/judith-heneghans-novel-snegurochka-a68520 A novel that captures an era and its strange clash of worlds brilliantly. Sat, 14 Dec 2019 06:02:11 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/14/judith-heneghans-novel-snegurochka-a68520 Old Moscow and St. Petersburg Through an American Photographer's Lens https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/13/old-moscow-and-st-petersburg-through-an-american-photographers-lens-a68616 Colorized photos show a long-gone side of Soviet Moscow and St. Petersburg. Fri, 13 Dec 2019 15:40:24 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/13/old-moscow-and-st-petersburg-through-an-american-photographers-lens-a68616 Moscow's Controversial, Unforgettable 'Luzhkov-Style' Architecture https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/moscows-controversial-unforgettable-luzhkov-style-architecture-a68554 The ex-Moscow mayor, who died at age 83, led the capital through a dramatic transformation during his 18 years in office. Wed, 11 Dec 2019 14:50:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/moscows-controversial-unforgettable-luzhkov-style-architecture-a68554 Swim Season Opens in December https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/swim-season-opens-in-december-a68537 The best thing for your health is a good bracing ice swim - just train for it first. Wed, 11 Dec 2019 11:54:19 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/11/swim-season-opens-in-december-a68537 'Chernobyl' Nabs 4 Golden Globe Nominations https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/chernobyl-nabs-4-golden-globe-nominations-a68540 The highly acclaimed HBO miniseries was nominated in every category it entered. Tue, 10 Dec 2019 10:06:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/10/chernobyl-nabs-4-golden-globe-nominations-a68540 2,000 Russian Santa Clauses Are Coming to Town https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/09/ryazan-new-years-capital-of-2020-a68518 Will the real Ded Moroz please stand up? Mon, 09 Dec 2019 14:17:05 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/09/ryazan-new-years-capital-of-2020-a68518 Russian Gallery Puts Stickers Over Nude Art https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/09/russian-gallery-puts-stickers-over-nude-art-a68523 “In my 20 years of art exhibitions, this is the first time I’m encountering this,” the artist said. Mon, 09 Dec 2019 13:13:49 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/09/russian-gallery-puts-stickers-over-nude-art-a68523 'Russia's 20th Century: A Journey in 100 Histories' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/07/russias-20th-century-a-journey-in-100-histories-a68510 100 vignettes of Russian life that together form a vivid history of a tumultuous, tragic, heroic century. Sat, 07 Dec 2019 09:30:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/07/russias-20th-century-a-journey-in-100-histories-a68510 Moscow's Magical Chinese Lantern Festival, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/moscows-magical-chinese-lantern-festival-in-photos-a68481 Ancient Chinese traditions meet modern technology in each display. Thu, 05 Dec 2019 15:12:12 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/moscows-magical-chinese-lantern-festival-in-photos-a68481 Music and More Awarded in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/music-and-more-awarded-in-moscow-a68492 Gold or dross? Two awards ceremonies make the calls. Thu, 05 Dec 2019 11:07:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/05/music-and-more-awarded-in-moscow-a68492 Moscow Tears Down Historic Soviet Cinema https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/04/moscow-tears-down-historic-soviet-cinema-a68477 The historic Solovey movie theater, first opened in 1959, is being demolished to make way for a 20-story apartment complex. Wed, 04 Dec 2019 14:40:43 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/04/moscow-tears-down-historic-soviet-cinema-a68477 Writer and Historian Robert K. Massie, Dead at 90 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/03/writer-and-historian-robert-k-massie-dead-at-90-a68448 Massie's historical erudition and narrative talent brought foreign worlds alive. Tue, 03 Dec 2019 10:30:46 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/03/writer-and-historian-robert-k-massie-dead-at-90-a68448 Everyday Life in the Moscow Metro https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/02/everyday-life-in-the-moscow-metro-a68425 It's more than just a mode of transportation. Mon, 02 Dec 2019 13:32:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/02/everyday-life-in-the-moscow-metro-a68425 On This Day in 1934 Sergei Kirov Was Killed https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/01/on-this-day-sergei-kirov-was-killed-a68407 When communist party boss Sergei Kirov was assassinated, Leningraders cracked jokes. Sun, 01 Dec 2019 08:43:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/12/01/on-this-day-sergei-kirov-was-killed-a68407 'The Connection' by Daniil Kharms https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/30/the-connection-by-daniil-kharms-a68400 Welcome to the absurd world of Daniil Kharms. Sat, 30 Nov 2019 09:42:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/30/the-connection-by-daniil-kharms-a68400 Pushkin’s Classic ‘Eugene Onegin’ Sells for $150K in London https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/29/pushkins-classic-eugene-onegin-sells-for-150k-in-london-a68410 Each part in the auctioned set was printed during Pushkin’s lifetime. Fri, 29 Nov 2019 15:42:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/29/pushkins-classic-eugene-onegin-sells-for-150k-in-london-a68410 What's On in St. Petersburg in December https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/29/whats-on-in-st-petersburg-in-december-a68370 Our picks for a culturally diverse and fascinating trip to St. Petersburg, from rock n' roll to Repin. Fri, 29 Nov 2019 08:32:58 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/29/whats-on-in-st-petersburg-in-december-a68370 On This Day in 1880 Poet Alexander Blok Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/28/on-this-day-blok-nov-28-a68364 Alexander Blok is a poet's poet, a writer for the ages. Thu, 28 Nov 2019 12:20:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/11/28/on-this-day-blok-nov-28-a68364