The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Mon, 18 Feb 2019 09:50:23 +0100 600 Get Out of Town! Go to Tula https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/15/get-out-of-town-go-to-tula A weekend trip to Tula is just the break you need: art, museums, history, writers and hip hostelries and eateries. Fri, 15 Feb 2019 10:52:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/15/get-out-of-town-go-to-tula Celebrate Russia On Stage https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/14/celebrate-russia-on-stage Check out the best in theater from all over Russia. Thu, 14 Feb 2019 11:28:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/14/celebrate-russia-on-stage A Look Back at 155 Years of the Moscow Zoo, in Pictures https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/13/look-back-at-155-years-moscow-zoo-in-pictures From baby chimps and hippos to anti-aircraft guns during World War II, the Moscow zoo has had a rich 155-year history. Wed, 13 Feb 2019 09:32:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/13/look-back-at-155-years-moscow-zoo-in-pictures The Magical Light of Arkhip Kuindzhi https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/08/the-magical-light-of-arkhip-kuindzhi You still have time to see this exhibition of one of Russia's greatest 19th-century painters. Fri, 08 Feb 2019 15:08:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/08/the-magical-light-of-arkhip-kuindzhi Moscow’s Chinese Pearls https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/moscows-chinese-pearls Moscow might not have a Chinatown, but it has plenty of Chinese culture. Here are ten of the best. Mon, 04 Feb 2019 12:52:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/moscows-chinese-pearls New Year, Old New Year and Chinese New Year https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/new-year-old-new-year-and-chinese-new-year Is Russia's pivot to the East trickling down to the man and woman on the street? Mon, 04 Feb 2019 12:47:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/new-year-old-new-year-and-chinese-new-year 'DAU': A Preview https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/dau-a-preview Russia's most genre-breaking, revolutionary film project may never be shown in Russia. Mon, 04 Feb 2019 12:28:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/dau-a-preview Restoring Repin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/01/restoring-repin The Tretyakov Gallery met with journalists to describe the first stage of repairing Repin's "Ivan the Terrible and His Son" after it was attacked. Fri, 01 Feb 2019 09:22:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/01/restoring-repin What's On This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/31/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64345 Fall to Earth with David Bowie, Lovers, and some guys from Ohio this weekend. Just don't forget your galoshes. Thu, 31 Jan 2019 11:01:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/31/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64345 Not Your Babushka's Museum https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/30/not-your-babushkas-museum If you haven't been to Moscow's Decorative Arts Museum in a while, head on over. It's not just folk arts and porcelain. Wed, 30 Jan 2019 15:43:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/30/not-your-babushkas-museum Enter the Curious World of Viktor Pivovarov https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/29/enter-the-curious-world-of-viktor-pivovarov If you loved works by Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, continue your stroll through Moscow conceptualist art with Viktor Pivovarov. Tue, 29 Jan 2019 10:46:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/29/enter-the-curious-world-of-viktor-pivovarov A Daring Theft in a Moscow Museum https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/28/a-daring-theft-at-a-moscow-museum A man walked into the Tretyakov Gallery and walked out with a million-dollar painting. Mon, 28 Jan 2019 16:20:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/28/a-daring-theft-at-a-moscow-museum David Burliuk Comes Back to Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/david-burliuk-comes-back-to-moscow If you haven't seen this amazing show of avant-garde Russian art, poetry and culture, run and see it before it closes on Sunday. Fri, 25 Jan 2019 15:02:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/david-burliuk-comes-back-to-moscow New Film Fest Opens at Cosmos Theater https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/new-film-fest-opens-at-cosmos-theater A new film festival aims to disprove the theory that some films are "not for everyone." Fri, 25 Jan 2019 14:18:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/new-film-fest-opens-at-cosmos-theater Students Celebrate Tatiana’s Day https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/students-celebrate-tatianas-day Don't be surprised to see hoards of merrymaking students today. It's their national holiday. Fri, 25 Jan 2019 10:10:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/students-celebrate-tatianas-day What's On This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/24/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64273 How to stay warm this weekend: go to the opera, concerts, and see some great art. Thu, 24 Jan 2019 11:48:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/24/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64273 Cool Moscow Bars https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/23/cool-moscow-bars These bars boast secret doors, personalized cocktails, and antiques for sale. Wed, 23 Jan 2019 14:25:35 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/23/cool-moscow-bars 'Women of the Gulag' Shortlisted for Oscar Nomination https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/women-of-the-gulag-shortlisted-for-oscar-nomination This year's Oscars might include a first: the first Russian-American woman director to win one. Mon, 21 Jan 2019 14:50:23 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/women-of-the-gulag-shortlisted-for-oscar-nomination Pushkin House Book Prize: Let the Reading Begin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/pushkin-house-book-prize-let-the-reading-begin If you want to read the very best new books about Russia, keep your eye on this space. Mon, 21 Jan 2019 09:40:48 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/pushkin-house-book-prize-let-the-reading-begin St. Petersburg Cultural Getaway https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/st-petersburg-cultural-getaway If you're looking for a weekend getaway, how about heading north? The arts season is in full swing and the snowy canals and squares are magnificent. Fri, 18 Jan 2019 13:42:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/st-petersburg-cultural-getaway Moscow Hosts First Show of Kahlo and Rivera https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/moscow-hosts-first-show-of-kahlo-and-rivera Step out of the cold into the bright colors of Mexico at this much-anticipated retrospective of Kahlo and Rivera. Fri, 18 Jan 2019 08:53:28 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/moscow-hosts-first-show-of-kahlo-and-rivera What's on This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/17/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64177 Get back into the swing of things this weekend with concerts, theater and some eye-opening exhibitions. Thu, 17 Jan 2019 11:46:56 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/17/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64177 Mikhail Larionov: A Master Comes Home https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/15/mikhail-larionov-a-master-comes-home Step out of the snow and darkness of a Moscow winter and into the light, color and movement of Mikhail Larionov's works Tue, 15 Jan 2019 11:43:39 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/15/mikhail-larionov-a-master-comes-home Lucky Lentils For a Prosperous New Year https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/11/lucky-lentils-for-a-prosperous-new-year Russians let you start the new year again this weekend. And here's the lucky dish to celebrate with. Fri, 11 Jan 2019 10:50:07 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/11/lucky-lentils-for-a-prosperous-new-year 'Freedom Exists' in Yekaterinburg https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/freedom-exists-in-yekaterinburg The Yeltsin Center is holding a comprehensive show of works by the non-conformist artist Erik Bulatov. Thu, 10 Jan 2019 12:41:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/freedom-exists-in-yekaterinburg A Capital of Culture https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/a-capital-of-culture Back to basics -- now that tickets sales and crowds are back to normal, it's time to get some high culture. Thu, 10 Jan 2019 08:18:42 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/a-capital-of-culture ‘Ayka’ Is Still In the Running for an Oscar https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/ayka-is-still-in-the-running-for-an-oscar Another Russian-language film is in the news -- this one an Oscar contender. Wed, 09 Jan 2019 12:07:56 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/ayka-is-still-in-the-running-for-an-oscar A Russian Film Premieres on YouTube https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/a-russian-film-premieres-on-youtube These days the place to see a popular new Russian film is at home on your computer. Wed, 09 Jan 2019 09:56:45 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/a-russian-film-premieres-on-youtube Get Out of Town https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/04/get-out-of-town-day-excursions Tired of the capital's hum? Head out of town for the day or weekend. Fri, 04 Jan 2019 12:14:13 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/04/get-out-of-town-day-excursions Moscow's Best English Language Bookstores https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/03/moscows-best-english-language-bookstores If you have been searching far and wide for English language books, look no further! Here are a few stores where you will find all of your favorite titles. Thu, 03 Jan 2019 12:01:11 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/03/moscows-best-english-language-bookstores Get Outside https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/02/get-outside-outdoor-winter-fun-and-activities Now that your New Year's hangover is over and you've eaten your weight in salad Olivier -- it's the perfect time to head outdoors. Wed, 02 Jan 2019 14:49:38 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/02/get-outside-outdoor-winter-fun-and-activities A New Year's Eve Trip Around Russia — and Into 2019 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/01/a-new-years-eve-trip-around-russia-and-into-2019 The celebrations reach Moscow some nine hours after the Far East first rings in the New Year. Tue, 01 Jan 2019 13:26:01 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/01/a-new-years-eve-trip-around-russia-and-into-2019 Shock the Guests on New Year's Eve https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/31/shock-the-guests-on-new-years-eve Still cooking, chopping and fighting over the New Year's menu? Try something old with a new twist. Mon, 31 Dec 2018 10:48:35 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/31/shock-the-guests-on-new-years-eve What To Do With the Kids Over the Vacation? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/what-to-do-with-the-kids-over-the-vacation The winter vacation is all about the kids. Fri, 28 Dec 2018 13:33:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/what-to-do-with-the-kids-over-the-vacation On Stage Over the Holidays https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/on-stage-over-the-holidays If you think you're going to relax over the holidays, think again! Fri, 28 Dec 2018 08:52:55 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/on-stage-over-the-holidays #ChristmasInMoscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/27/christmasinmoscow Looking for the best spots for your holiday in Moscow photos? Count on us! We found them for you. Thu, 27 Dec 2018 10:15:42 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/27/christmasinmoscow The Best Vegetarian Restaurants in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/26/the-best-vegetarian-restaurants-in-moscow Here are our suggestions for the best vegetarian spots in town. Wed, 26 Dec 2018 13:15:43 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/26/the-best-vegetarian-restaurants-in-moscow Vatican Museums Host Rare Show of Russian Art https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/25/vatican-museums-host-rare-exhibition-of-russian-art A ground-breaking exhibition of Russian spirituality on display at the Vatican Museums for the holiday season. Tue, 25 Dec 2018 14:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/25/vatican-museums-host-rare-exhibition-of-russian-art The Joy of Giving https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/25/the-joy-of-giving Spend a few fun hours remembering the real joy of the season -- helping our community. Tue, 25 Dec 2018 11:38:44 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/25/the-joy-of-giving Inside a Moscow Art Studio https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/25/inside-a-moscow-art-studio-62403 Anastasia Potemkina and Aleksei Buldakov, aka Urban Fauna Lab Tue, 25 Dec 2018 10:42:03 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/25/inside-a-moscow-art-studio-62403 Holiday Shopping https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/24/holiday-shopping-63839 From wrapping paper and tinsel to unique gifts for family and friends: there are so many wonderful holiday shopping options to discover in Moscow. Mon, 24 Dec 2018 12:42:16 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/24/holiday-shopping-63839 Holiday Fairs https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/21/holiday-fairs-63931 The city is hosting wonderful and whimsical weekend holiday fairs. Stop in to buy gifts and make someone happy. Fri, 21 Dec 2018 12:32:12 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/21/holiday-fairs-63931 What's On This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/20/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-63915 Take a break from holiday shopping to enjoy some theater, parties and art. Thu, 20 Dec 2018 11:15:35 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/20/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-63915 Ring in the Year of the Yellow Earth Pig https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/19/ring-in-the-year-of-the-yellow-earth-pig How to welcome the new year the Russian, er, Chinese, er, Russian way. Wed, 19 Dec 2018 14:12:56 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/19/ring-in-the-year-of-the-yellow-earth-pig Begin Your 'Journey to Christmas' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/19/begin-your-journey-to-christmas Put on your mittens and wool socks and start enjoying Moscow's holiday extravaganza. Wed, 19 Dec 2018 10:43:17 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/19/begin-your-journey-to-christmas Moscow Lights Up for Christmas 2018, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/18/decorations As Russia gets ready for Christmas and New Year's both Orthodox and otherwise, the capital lights up with stunning displays of lights, color, fun and food. Here's a look around Moscow! Tue, 18 Dec 2018 13:35:19 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/18/decorations Holiday Dazzler https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/18/holiday-dazzler Looking for a Russian-inspired party dazzler that's easy to make? Look no further. Tue, 18 Dec 2018 08:47:58 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/18/holiday-dazzler Moscow's Frozen Monuments, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/14/monuments Moscow doesn't spare anyone or anything from its harsh winters. Here's a look at some of our favorite statues as the snow comes down. Fri, 14 Dec 2018 15:23:23 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/14/monuments What's On This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/13/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-63808 A weekend of great theater and concerts bringing some holiday spirit -- of all kinds -- to the Russian capital. Thu, 13 Dec 2018 10:35:21 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/13/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-63808 Painter Isaac Levitan and the Big Screen https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/12/painter-isaac-levitan-and-the-big-screen Go to the Jewish Museum and Tolerance Center to see familiar landscape paintings - and the landscapes themselves - in a totally new way. Wed, 12 Dec 2018 10:18:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/12/painter-isaac-levitan-and-the-big-screen