The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Sun, 22 Sep 2019 20:12:37 +0200 600 On This Day Sergei Ozhegov Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/22/on-this-day-sergei-ozhegov-was-born-a67375 Ozhegov's legacy lives on today in the work of translators, academics and students of Russian around the world. Sun, 22 Sep 2019 13:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/22/on-this-day-sergei-ozhegov-was-born-a67375 Where Indians Eat Indian Food in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/20/where-indians-eat-indian-food-in-moscow-a67377 Authentic Indian food is easier to find in Russia's capital than you might expect. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 17:18:06 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/20/where-indians-eat-indian-food-in-moscow-a67377 Russia’s Love Affair With India https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/20/russias-love-affair-with-india-a67361 Food and culture have forged strong ties between the countries over the past three decades. Fri, 20 Sep 2019 11:24:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/20/russias-love-affair-with-india-a67361 Behind Moscow’s Facades, Legacies of Soviet Atheism https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/19/behind-moscows-facades-legacies-of-soviet-atheism-a67348 The Russian Orthodox Church is trying to evict tenants and claim real estate that was once appropriated by Soviet authorities. Thu, 19 Sep 2019 14:48:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/19/behind-moscows-facades-legacies-of-soviet-atheism-a67348 Moscow's Inspiring New Cultural Season Opens https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/18/moscows-inspiring-new-cultural-season-opens-a67331 2019 is Russia's Year of Theater. Wed, 18 Sep 2019 16:35:51 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/18/moscows-inspiring-new-cultural-season-opens-a67331 Zaryadye Concert Hall Gets New Organ https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/17/zaryadye-concert-hall-gets-new-organ-a67319 A spectacular new instrument will debut in February Tue, 17 Sep 2019 14:40:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/17/zaryadye-concert-hall-gets-new-organ-a67319 Moscow's Big Weekend Out: From Puppies to Public Buses https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/16/moscows-big-weekend-out-from-puppies-to-public-buses-a67295 Summer may be over, but Muscovites still had a weekend packed with parades, marathons and street-filling fun. Mon, 16 Sep 2019 14:27:42 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/16/moscows-big-weekend-out-from-puppies-to-public-buses-a67295 Take Me Out to the Ball Game … in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/16/take-me-out-to-the-ball-game-in-moscow-a67291 After a bumpy start, Russian baseball is taking off. Mon, 16 Sep 2019 12:46:52 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/16/take-me-out-to-the-ball-game-in-moscow-a67291 Russian Priests Hit the Streets in St. Petersburg https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/13/russian-priests-hit-the-streets-in-st-petersburg-a67278 Russian Orthodox priests donned their finest golden robes for a mass procession in honor of legendary leader St. Alexander Nevsky. Fri, 13 Sep 2019 14:01:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/13/russian-priests-hit-the-streets-in-st-petersburg-a67278 On This Day Alexander Rosenbaum Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/13/on-this-day-alexander-rosenbaum-was-born-a67260 Rosenbaum is one of Russia's most famous bards, or singing poets. Fri, 13 Sep 2019 11:46:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/13/on-this-day-alexander-rosenbaum-was-born-a67260 Pelevin’s New Novel Plays With U.S.-Russian Culture Wars https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/12/pelevins-new-novel-plays-with-us-russian-culture-wars-a67267 The book is a riff on news from recent years, telling the story of a secret Russian unit whose mission is to avenge the collapse of the Soviet Union. Thu, 12 Sep 2019 16:30:15 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/12/pelevins-new-novel-plays-with-us-russian-culture-wars-a67267 Dziga Vertov’s ‘Anniversary of a Revolution’ Has its Second Moscow Premiere https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/10/dziga-vertovs-anniversary-of-a-revolution-has-its-second-moscow-premiere-a67228 100 years after it was made and lost, a restored version of the documentary was shown at the Oktyabr Theater. Tue, 10 Sep 2019 15:25:44 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/10/dziga-vertovs-anniversary-of-a-revolution-has-its-second-moscow-premiere-a67228 On This Day Lev Tolstoy Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/09/otd-lev-tolstoy-a67201 Nearly two centuries later, Tolstoy remains one of the greatest novelists in history. Mon, 09 Sep 2019 16:04:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/09/otd-lev-tolstoy-a67201 Moscow Celebrates Its 872nd Birthday, in Photos https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/09/moscow-celebrates-its-872nd-birthday-in-photos-a67198 Moscow pulls out all the stops to mark City Day with concerts, games, fireworks and more. Mon, 09 Sep 2019 15:00:49 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/09/moscow-celebrates-its-872nd-birthday-in-photos-a67198 'Putin’s Hybrid War and the Jews' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/07/putins-hybrid-war-and-the-jews-a67184 How propaganda, revisionist history, and warfare have caused tens of thousands of Jews to flee Ukraine. Sat, 07 Sep 2019 13:44:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/07/putins-hybrid-war-and-the-jews-a67184 Opening Eyes to Sightless Life in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/05/opening-eyes-to-sightless-life-in-moscow-a67148 Moscow’s first musical in the dark engages four out of five senses. Thu, 05 Sep 2019 09:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/05/opening-eyes-to-sightless-life-in-moscow-a67148 Mongolia Welcomes Putin With Military Pomp, Vivid Performances https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/04/mongolia-welcomes-putin-with-military-pomp-vivid-performances-a67144 Putin has called relations between Russia and Mongolia "brotherly" — and his meeting with Mongolia's president really showed it. Wed, 04 Sep 2019 16:57:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/04/mongolia-welcomes-putin-with-military-pomp-vivid-performances-a67144 Russia’s Young Innovators Build the Future at Rukami Festival https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/02/russias-young-innovators-build-the-future-at-rukami-festival-a67103 Young people from across Russia showed off their ideas on how digital evolution will shape our lives. Mon, 02 Sep 2019 16:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/02/russias-young-innovators-build-the-future-at-rukami-festival-a67103 On This Day 15 Years Ago the Siege of Beslan Began https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/01/otd-15-years-ago-the-siege-of-beslan-began-a67093 In Russia a day of celebration became the worst terrorist attack in the country's history. Sun, 01 Sep 2019 15:40:50 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/09/01/otd-15-years-ago-the-siege-of-beslan-began-a67093 On This Day in 1935 the 'Stakhanovite' Movement Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/31/otd-in-1985-the-stakhanovite-movement-was-born-a67092 Alexei Stakhanov was a man, a miner and a myth. Sat, 31 Aug 2019 13:33:26 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/31/otd-in-1985-the-stakhanovite-movement-was-born-a67092 'The Long Shadow of Chernobyl' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/28/the-long-shadow-of-chernobyl-a67063 Gerd Ludwig's photographs of Chernobyl, taken over 20 years, chronicle the disaster and aftermath. Wed, 28 Aug 2019 15:34:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/28/the-long-shadow-of-chernobyl-a67063 On This Day Space Dogs Flew a Mission https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/27/otd-aug-27-1958-space-dogs-flew-a-mission-a67031 Today Moscow street dogs ride the metro; 50 years ago they flew space missions. Tue, 27 Aug 2019 10:32:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/27/otd-aug-27-1958-space-dogs-flew-a-mission-a67031 Russia's Weird and Splendid Regional Flags and Сoats of Arms https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/26/russias-weird-and-splendid-regional-flags-and-oats-of-arms-a67019 Russia's regions and cities are incredibly diverse and unique — and so are their flags. Mon, 26 Aug 2019 17:01:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/26/russias-weird-and-splendid-regional-flags-and-oats-of-arms-a67019 Russia Hosts International Military Band March-Off https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/26/russia-hosts-international-military-band-march-off-a67015 Thirty orchestras from 12 countries are taking part in this year's event and competing for the audience's admiration. Mon, 26 Aug 2019 15:05:39 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/26/russia-hosts-international-military-band-march-off-a67015 On This Day Ivan the Terrible Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/25/otd-ivan-the-terrible-a66991 Ivan IV was one of Russia's most powerful but erratic leaders. Sun, 25 Aug 2019 11:55:51 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/25/otd-ivan-the-terrible-a66991 Olga Zilberbourg’s 'Like Water and Other Stories' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/24/olga-zilberbourgs-like-water-and-other-stories-a66997 Olga Zilberbourg reinvents emigre literature. Sat, 24 Aug 2019 11:14:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/24/olga-zilberbourgs-like-water-and-other-stories-a66997 Art Patron Mikhail Abramov, Dead at 55 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/22/mikhail-abramov-dead-at-55-a66983 The founder of one of Moscow's few private museums died in Greece. Thu, 22 Aug 2019 15:29:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/22/mikhail-abramov-dead-at-55-a66983 Russia's Street Art Festival Unveils Sky-High Spray-Painting https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/21/russias-street-art-festival-unveils-sky-high-spray-painting-a66958 Meet Russia's newest open-air art museum — the largest of its kind in the world. Wed, 21 Aug 2019 16:47:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/21/russias-street-art-festival-unveils-sky-high-spray-painting-a66958 On This Day: Leon Trotsky Was Assassinated With an Ice Pick https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/21/on-this-day-leon-trotsky-was-assassinated-with-an-ice-pick-a66954 Leon Trotsky died on this day on in 1940. Wed, 21 Aug 2019 15:02:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/21/on-this-day-leon-trotsky-was-assassinated-with-an-ice-pick-a66954 Sailing Into the Past in Lipetsk https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/20/sailing-into-the-past-in-lipetsk-a66939 Russia is more than Moscow, and festivals are everywhere. Tue, 20 Aug 2019 11:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/20/sailing-into-the-past-in-lipetsk-a66939 Sergey Diaghilev, Remembered 90 Years After His Death https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/19/sergey-diaghilev-remembered-90-years-after-his-death-a66931 Sergey Diaghilev, the renowned Russian ballet impresario, died 90 years ago on Aug. 19, 1929. Mon, 19 Aug 2019 17:05:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/19/sergey-diaghilev-remembered-90-years-after-his-death-a66931 On This Day in 1991 a Coup Was Attempted in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/19/otd-aug-19-coup-attempt-a66922 The coup was meant to hold the union together, but in the end, tore it apart. Mon, 19 Aug 2019 12:59:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/19/otd-aug-19-coup-attempt-a66922 Dmitri Shostakovich, Football Fanatic https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/18/dmitri-shostakovich-football-fanatic-a66908 Inside this composer with an orderly mind beat the heart of a football fanatic. Sun, 18 Aug 2019 15:06:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/18/dmitri-shostakovich-football-fanatic-a66908 Russia's Good Year at the Awards https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/16/russias-good-year-at-the-awards-a66901 Innovation, experimentation and breaks with tradition were celebrated at this year's awards ceremonies. Fri, 16 Aug 2019 15:40:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/16/russias-good-year-at-the-awards-a66901 On This Day Rock Legend Viktor Tsoi Died https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/15/otd-tsoi-a66819 On Aug. 15, 1990 Soviet rock icon Viktor Tsoi died in a car crash. Thu, 15 Aug 2019 13:58:55 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/15/otd-tsoi-a66819 On This Day Writer Dmitry Merezhkovsky Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/14/on-this-day-aug-14-dmitry-merezhkovsky-was-born-a66816 The writer and philosopher was born on Aug. 14, 1866 Wed, 14 Aug 2019 12:47:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/14/on-this-day-aug-14-dmitry-merezhkovsky-was-born-a66816 A Story of Art and Russian Grandmothers https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/14/story-art-russian-grandmothers-a66824 A gallery of miniature scenes from Russian life made by artist Irina Verkhgradskaya. Wed, 14 Aug 2019 12:07:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/14/story-art-russian-grandmothers-a66824 Moscow Art Group Takes St. Petersburg By Storm https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/13/moscow-art-group-takes-st-petersburg-by-storm-a66831 If you don't know the art group AES + F, their enormous show at the Manege is where to start. Tue, 13 Aug 2019 11:55:38 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/13/moscow-art-group-takes-st-petersburg-by-storm-a66831 On This Day: The Kursk Submarine Disaster https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/12/otd-kursk-aug-12-a66818 On Aug. 12, 2000 the Kursk sank, killing all on board. Mon, 12 Aug 2019 16:17:40 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/12/otd-kursk-aug-12-a66818 Russia's Muslims Celebrate Kurban Bairam https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/12/russias-muslims-celebrate-kurban-bairam-a66814 Kurban Bairam, considered one of the holiest days in the Islamic calendar, is celebrated by millions of Muslims in Russia. Mon, 12 Aug 2019 16:09:58 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/12/russias-muslims-celebrate-kurban-bairam-a66814 Downshifting in Russia: Who’s Fed Up With the Big City? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/11/downshifting-in-russia-whos-fed-up-with-the-big-city-a66804 While rural flight increases in Russia, some young families are moving in the opposite direction. Sun, 11 Aug 2019 15:36:05 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/11/downshifting-in-russia-whos-fed-up-with-the-big-city-a66804 No Sex and Drugs: Moscow Regulates Graffiti, but Who Owns the Streets? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/09/no-sex-and-drugs-moscow-regulates-graffiti-but-who-owns-the-streets-a66792 Works depicting violence, pornography, profanity, tobacco, explosives and drugs are strictly forbidden. Fri, 09 Aug 2019 16:32:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/09/no-sex-and-drugs-moscow-regulates-graffiti-but-who-owns-the-streets-a66792 Last Gasp Moscow Music Festivals https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/09/last-gasp-moscow-music-festivals-a66786 Dress warmly - or put on a swimsuit - for Moscow's last music festivals. Really. Fri, 09 Aug 2019 13:54:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/09/last-gasp-moscow-music-festivals-a66786 Tarantino ‘Shocked By Moscow’ in First Visit to Russia Since 2004 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/08/tarantino-shocked-by-moscow-in-first-visit-to-russia-since-2004-a66757 The director, in town to promote his new movie, went on a highly publicized Kremlin tour but stressed that he came to Moscow to see his fans. Thu, 08 Aug 2019 12:38:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/08/tarantino-shocked-by-moscow-in-first-visit-to-russia-since-2004-a66757 On This Day in 1945 the Soviet Union Declared War on Japan https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/08/otd-aug-8-ussr-war-japan-a66761 In 1945 the U.S.S.R. was at war with Japan for a week, but that week broke the Japanese resistance. Thu, 08 Aug 2019 10:45:36 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/08/otd-aug-8-ussr-war-japan-a66761 Tourism + Technology = New Moscow Attraction https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/07/tourism-technology-new-moscow-attraction-a66750 Here's a new way to see Moscow: take a walk with a fascinating fictional guide. Wed, 07 Aug 2019 13:55:11 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/07/tourism-technology-new-moscow-attraction-a66750 Russia’s Transgender Community Struggles for Acceptance https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/07/russias-transgender-community-struggles-for-acceptance-a66749 Medical and bureaucratic hurdles make life hard despite recent signs that attitudes are changing. Wed, 07 Aug 2019 13:49:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/07/russias-transgender-community-struggles-for-acceptance-a66749 Fabergé and the Link of Times https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/06/faberge-and-the-link-of-times-a66732 In St. Petersburg, be sure to stop in at this relatively new and truly fabulous museum. Tue, 06 Aug 2019 17:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/06/faberge-and-the-link-of-times-a66732 On This Day Ilya Repin Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/05/otd-ilya-repin-a66710 On Aug. 5, 1844 Russian realist painter Ilya Repin was born. Mon, 05 Aug 2019 16:36:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/05/otd-ilya-repin-a66710 On This Day Architect Konstantin Melnikov Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/03/otd-konstantin-melnikov-a66614 Today we celebrate an architect who truly thought outside the box. Sat, 03 Aug 2019 12:55:10 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/08/03/otd-konstantin-melnikov-a66614