The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Thu, 23 May 2019 16:48:01 +0200 600 10 Artists Who Died in the Soviet Gulag, Remembered in Street Art https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/23/10-artists-who-died-soviet-gulag-remembered-street-art-a65683 The portraits of 10 famous Russian artists who fell victims to repressions in the Soviet Union are on display in Moscow. Thu, 23 May 2019 11:27:45 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/23/10-artists-who-died-soviet-gulag-remembered-street-art-a65683 On This Day: Andrei Sakharov https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/21/on-this-day-sakharov-a65671 Sakharov won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1975 but was persecuted for his efforts for civil liberties. Tue, 21 May 2019 15:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/21/on-this-day-sakharov-a65671 Game of Thrones Finale Sets Moscow Stadium Ablaze https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/21/game-of-thrones-finale-sets-moscow-stadium-ablaze-a65666 A Song of Ice and Fire comes to Moscow one last time. Tue, 21 May 2019 11:13:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/21/game-of-thrones-finale-sets-moscow-stadium-ablaze-a65666 Russian History Enthusiasts Re-Enact Battle of Borodino https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/20/russian-history-enthusiasts-re-enact-battle-of-borodino-a65662 History buffs traveled back to 1812 to re-enact the epic battle. Mon, 20 May 2019 17:25:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/20/russian-history-enthusiasts-re-enact-battle-of-borodino-a65662 Spring Bike Festival Races Through Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/20/spring-bike-festival-races-through-moscow-a65648 An estimated 40,000 cyclists took part in this epic bike festival. Mon, 20 May 2019 14:35:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/20/spring-bike-festival-races-through-moscow-a65648 The Mixed Feelings of Moscow's Venezuela Community About Life Abroad https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/18/mixed-feelings-venezuelas-moscow-community-about-life-abroad-a65640 We decided to ask the Venezuelan community in Moscow what they think about what's happening in their country. Sat, 18 May 2019 13:42:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/18/mixed-feelings-venezuelas-moscow-community-about-life-abroad-a65640 The Heroic Bitter Land of 'Chernobyl' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/18/the-heroic-bitter-land-of-chernobyl-a65639 A television series about the U.S.S.R. written and produced in the West that has Russian viewers raving. Sat, 18 May 2019 08:44:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/18/the-heroic-bitter-land-of-chernobyl-a65639 Self-Help Lessons From the Russian Classics https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/18/samorazvitiye-po-tolstomou-self-help-lessons-from-the-russian-classics-a65627 In "Self Improvement Tolstoy-Style," an English Russophile explores life and literature. Sat, 18 May 2019 08:13:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/18/samorazvitiye-po-tolstomou-self-help-lessons-from-the-russian-classics-a65627 Night in the Museum, Day in the Hotel https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/17/night-in-the-museum-day-in-the-hotel-a65638 See how Moscow is throwing open the museum doors on May 18. Fri, 17 May 2019 17:18:18 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/17/night-in-the-museum-day-in-the-hotel-a65638 How to Spend A Night in a St. Petersburg Museum https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/17/how-to-spend-a-night-in-a-st-petersburg-museum-a65588 See how the northern capital celebrates the annual Night in the Museum. Fri, 17 May 2019 14:43:15 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/17/how-to-spend-a-night-in-a-st-petersburg-museum-a65588 Russia Makes It to Eurovision Song Contest Final https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/17/russia-makes-it-to-eurovision-song-contest-final-a65624 Sergei Lazarev will perform horror-themed ballad “Scream.” Fri, 17 May 2019 12:39:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/17/russia-makes-it-to-eurovision-song-contest-final-a65624 Discover Nikolai Meshcherin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/16/discover-nikolai-meshcherin-a65610 What you could you see if you were in Moscow this weekend. Thu, 16 May 2019 14:38:36 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/16/discover-nikolai-meshcherin-a65610 Russia's Largest Rivers From the Amur to the Volga https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/15/russias-largest-rivers-from-the-amur-to-the-volga-a65593 As Russia spends the next month cleaning up its small bodies of water, learn all about its largest waters. Wed, 15 May 2019 16:24:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/15/russias-largest-rivers-from-the-amur-to-the-volga-a65593 On This Day: Mikhail Bulgakov https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/15/bulgakov-a65564 Today a household name in Russian literature, Bulgakov’s best and most known work was published after his death in 1940. Wed, 15 May 2019 12:52:49 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/15/bulgakov-a65564 Contest: Two Free Tickets to Romen https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/14/win-two-free-tickets-to-romen-theater-a65577 Win two free tickets to the only Romani Theater in the world. Tue, 14 May 2019 16:09:24 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/14/win-two-free-tickets-to-romen-theater-a65577 Celebrating Rock Star Zemfira, 20 Years After Her Explosive Debut Album https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/14/celebrating-rock-star-zemfira-20-years-after-her-explosive-debut-album-a65565 Legendary Russian rock singer Zemfira released her debut album in May 1999. Tue, 14 May 2019 10:09:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/14/celebrating-rock-star-zemfira-20-years-after-her-explosive-debut-album-a65565 FC Zenit St. Petersburg Crowned Russian Champions, in Pictures https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/13/fc-zenit-st-petersburg-crowned-russian-champions-a65556 Zenit's win was met with wild celebrations within the stadium and beyond after a 4-year title draught. Mon, 13 May 2019 16:01:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/13/fc-zenit-st-petersburg-crowned-russian-champions-a65556 Summer Vibes in Russia's Capital https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/11/summer-vibes-in-russias-capital-a65519 Now that the warm weather is here to stay, Muscovites are ready to spend the season outside. Sat, 11 May 2019 08:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/11/summer-vibes-in-russias-capital-a65519 Sergei Dorenko Dead at 59 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/10/sergei-dorenko-dead-at-59-a65541 Victory Day in Moscow ended with news of a prominent Russian journalist's death. Fri, 10 May 2019 14:25:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/10/sergei-dorenko-dead-at-59-a65541 Moscow's Russian Romani Theater https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/08/moscows-russian-romani-theater-a65529 If you want to see something you'll never see anywhere else, head "out of town" to see "Grushenka" at the Romen Theater. Wed, 08 May 2019 15:49:51 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/08/moscows-russian-romani-theater-a65529 St. Petersburg's Scars of War https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/08/st-petersburgs-scars-of-war-a65421 In St. Petersburg, visit museums and memorials honoring those who lived and died during the blockade and war. Wed, 08 May 2019 11:55:59 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/08/st-petersburgs-scars-of-war-a65421 On This Day: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/07/onthisday-a65499 Tchaikovsky was the first Russian composer to become an international sensation. Tue, 07 May 2019 13:49:02 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/07/onthisday-a65499 Moscow Kicks Off Fountain Season https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/07/moscow-kicks-off-fountain-season-a65506 There are more than 500 working fountains in Moscow. Here's a look at our favorites. Tue, 07 May 2019 12:25:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/07/moscow-kicks-off-fountain-season-a65506 Mark Galeotti: ‘The Vory: Russia’s Super Mafia’ https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/05/mark-galleotti-the-vory-russias-super-mafia-a65488 Who will win the Pushkin House Book Prize? This week, take a peek at Mark Galeotti's nominated book. Sun, 05 May 2019 16:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/05/mark-galleotti-the-vory-russias-super-mafia-a65488 On This Day: Catherine the Great https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/02/on-this-day-catherine-the-great-a65469 On May 2, 1729, the woman who would become Catherine the Great was born as Princess Sophie of Anhalt-Zerbst in Stettin, Prussia. Thu, 02 May 2019 16:08:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/02/on-this-day-catherine-the-great-a65469 On This Day: In 1918 Soviet Russia Celebrated May 1 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/01/on-this-day-in-1918-soviet-russia-celebrated-may-1-a65456 Celebration of May 1 is an old, old tradition. Wed, 01 May 2019 14:14:55 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/05/01/on-this-day-in-1918-soviet-russia-celebrated-may-1-a65456 Restoring Repin: Criminal Sentenced As Work Continues https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/30/restoring-repin-criminal-sentenced-as-work-continues-a64362 The Tretyakov Gallery met with journalists to describe the first stage of repairing Repin's "Ivan the Terrible and His Son" after it was attacked. Tue, 30 Apr 2019 12:11:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/30/restoring-repin-criminal-sentenced-as-work-continues-a64362 On This Day: Nicholas II Signs Decree for “Tolerance Development” https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/30/on-this-day-nicholas-ii-signs-decree-for-tolerance-development-a65437 On April 30, 1905, Emperor Nicholas II issued a decree on “Tolerance Development.” Tue, 30 Apr 2019 10:29:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/30/on-this-day-nicholas-ii-signs-decree-for-tolerance-development-a65437 Stefan Ingvarsson's Cultural Exchange https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/29/stefan-ingvarssons-cultural-exchange-a65427 What does a cultural counselor do? If you're Sweden's Stefan Ingvarsson, you get out of town. Mon, 29 Apr 2019 15:24:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/29/stefan-ingvarssons-cultural-exchange-a65427 Moscow Residents Celebrating the Easter Vigil at Sretensky Monastery https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/28/moscow-residents-celebrating-the-easter-vigil-at-sretensky-monastery-a65414 Easter celebrations culminated in a grand midnight procession with crosses and icons. Sun, 28 Apr 2019 15:16:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/28/moscow-residents-celebrating-the-easter-vigil-at-sretensky-monastery-a65414 Vladimir Kozlov: Breaking With Tradition https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/27/vladimir-kozlov-breaking-with-tradition-a65399 Get in a taxi-van and get off in a different life. Sat, 27 Apr 2019 10:02:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/27/vladimir-kozlov-breaking-with-tradition-a65399 Michele Berdy Kicks Off New 'Moscow Time’s Offline' Series https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/26/michele-berdy-kicks-off-moscow-times-offline-series-a65398 Veteran columnist Michele Berdy launched the series with a talk about her life in Russia since 1978. Fri, 26 Apr 2019 11:48:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/26/michele-berdy-kicks-off-moscow-times-offline-series-a65398 Pushkin House Book Prize Short List https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/25/pushkin-house-book-prize-short-list-announced-a65386 Pushkin House has announced their short list of the best non-fiction about Russia published last year. Thu, 25 Apr 2019 15:35:44 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/25/pushkin-house-book-prize-short-list-announced-a65386 The Last Address of Alexander Drevin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/24/the-last-address-of-artist-alexander-drevin-a65363 On Sunday a plaque went up on the apartment house that was the Last Address of a great avant-garde painter. Wed, 24 Apr 2019 10:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/24/the-last-address-of-artist-alexander-drevin-a65363 On This Day: April 22, 1899 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/22/on-this-day-april-22-1899-a65340 Nabokov had a lasting influence on generations of writers all around the world. Mon, 22 Apr 2019 15:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/22/on-this-day-april-22-1899-a65340 Vintage Tram Cars Parade Down Moscow’s Streets https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/22/vintage-tram-cars-parade-down-moscows-streets-a65333 The event marked the 120-year anniversary of the Moscow tram service’s opening. Mon, 22 Apr 2019 11:22:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/22/vintage-tram-cars-parade-down-moscows-streets-a65333 Into the Frying Pan: 9 Top Russian Cookbooks https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/20/into-the-frying-pan-9-top-russian-cookbooks-a65321 What better way to spend the weekend than reading about, cooking and eating great Russian food? Sat, 20 Apr 2019 15:43:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/20/into-the-frying-pan-9-top-russian-cookbooks-a65321 Stanislavsky's Method Lives On https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/19/stanislavskys-method-lives-on-a65302 Why would a British acting student come to Moscow to study? It's all about the method. Fri, 19 Apr 2019 10:49:23 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/19/stanislavskys-method-lives-on-a65302 Moscow's Monuments Get a Spring Shower https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/18/moscows-monuments-get-a-spring-shower-a65297 The capital's famous monuments need a solid scrubbing to clean off the winter dirt. Thu, 18 Apr 2019 15:11:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/18/moscows-monuments-get-a-spring-shower-a65297 Russian Photographer Shoots Moscow With Blade Runner Aesthetics https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/17/russian-photographer-shoots-moscow-with-blade-runner-aesthetics-a65260 Konstantin Vikhrov's work captures the bright but bleak side of Moscow by night. Wed, 17 Apr 2019 13:53:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/17/russian-photographer-shoots-moscow-with-blade-runner-aesthetics-a65260 Celebrate Theater in Peremilovo https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/16/celebrate-theater-in-peremilovo-a65261 Come see quirky paintings of zany villagers putting on nutty plays. Tue, 16 Apr 2019 15:50:15 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/16/celebrate-theater-in-peremilovo-a65261 On This Day: Vladimir Lenin Arrives at the Finland Station https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/16/on-this-day-vladimir-lenin-arrives-in-st-petersburg-triggering-the-october-revolution-a65247 Vladimir Lenin standing on an armored train car is one of the iconic images of the 20th century. Tue, 16 Apr 2019 11:44:45 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/16/on-this-day-vladimir-lenin-arrives-in-st-petersburg-triggering-the-october-revolution-a65247 On This Day: On April 15, 1949 Singer Alla Pugacheva Was Born https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/15/pugacheva-on-this-day-a65234 Russia's musical, theatrical, cinematic, and celebrity icon is celebrating a big birthday. Mon, 15 Apr 2019 12:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/15/pugacheva-on-this-day-a65234 On This Day: April 13, 1990 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/13/on-this-day-april-13-1990-a65218 April 13 is Katyn Memorial Day, commemorating the nearly 22,000 Poles killed in the forest near Smolensk. Sat, 13 Apr 2019 06:26:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/13/on-this-day-april-13-1990-a65218 'Stalingrad' by Vasily Grossman https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/13/stalingrad-by-vasily-grossman-a65212 Here's an excerpt of a long-awaited new translation of Grossman's prequel to "Life and Fate" that comes out in June. Sat, 13 Apr 2019 06:25:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/13/stalingrad-by-vasily-grossman-a65212 Explore “Life After Life” in St. Petersburg https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/12/explore-life-after-life-in-st-petersburg-a65220 A show of brilliant Russian artists on death and immortality at the St. Petersburg Manege might be worth a weekend trip. Fri, 12 Apr 2019 15:18:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/12/explore-life-after-life-in-st-petersburg-a65220 On This Day: Yury Gagarin Orbits Earth on Vostok 1 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/12/on-this-day-gagarin-a65217 Fri, 12 Apr 2019 12:09:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/12/on-this-day-gagarin-a65217 Where Chinese Diners Eat in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/10/where-chinese-diners-eat-in-moscow-a65177 Which are the best Chinese restaurants in Moscow? We asked our Chinese friends. Wed, 10 Apr 2019 14:35:26 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/10/where-chinese-diners-eat-in-moscow-a65177 On This Day: ‘Spartacus’ by Yury Grigorovich at The Bolshoi https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/09/on-this-day-spartacus-a65157 This iconic ballet can still be seen at the Bolshoi. Tue, 09 Apr 2019 13:00:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/09/on-this-day-spartacus-a65157 All Too Human https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/06/all-too-human-the-school-of-london-exhibition-a65124 Our philosopher-art critic Aaron Wendland helps you make your way through the School of London exhibit. Sat, 06 Apr 2019 14:31:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/04/06/all-too-human-the-school-of-london-exhibition-a65124