The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Mon, 18 Mar 2019 18:32:03 +0100 600 Travel the World With Your Taste Buds at Depo https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/15/travel-the-world-with-your-taste-buds-at-depo-a64809 Enjoy a day out away from the usual tourist spots at Depo, Moscow's new food hall featuring flavors from across the globe. Fri, 15 Mar 2019 08:24:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/15/travel-the-world-with-your-taste-buds-at-depo-a64809 Celebrating the Luck of the Irish in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/12/celebrating-the-luck-of-the-irish-in-moscow-a64776 This month, the Irish Film Festival brings some of the best cinema from Ireland to Karo 11 Oktyabr Cinema. Tue, 12 Mar 2019 13:22:20 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/12/celebrating-the-luck-of-the-irish-in-moscow-a64776 Pancakes Flip and Fires Roar over Maslenitsa 2019 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/11/pancakes-flip-and-fires-roar-over-maslenitsa-2019-a64760 Russia's lead-up to Lent came to an end with traditional bonfires across the country. Mon, 11 Mar 2019 13:34:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/11/pancakes-flip-and-fires-roar-over-maslenitsa-2019-a64760 Broomball: Moscow's Wackiest, Toughest Sport https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/06/broomball-moscows-wackiest-toughest-sport-a64721 How to spend the long, cold Moscow winter? On the ice, chasing a ball with a broom, of course! Wed, 06 Mar 2019 14:17:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/06/broomball-moscows-wackiest-toughest-sport-a64721 All the Pancakes and Parties of Maslenitsa in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/04/all-the-pancakes-and-parties-of-maslenitsa-in-moscow-a64694 Take a look at the wild festivities of Maslenitsa and dribble over the sight of these batter-based delights! Mon, 04 Mar 2019 15:41:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/04/all-the-pancakes-and-parties-of-maslenitsa-in-moscow-a64694 March Music in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/01/march-music-in-moscow-a64687 Moscow does stage extravaganzas so well that you might overlook the city's brilliant intimate concerts. Fri, 01 Mar 2019 15:53:52 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/01/march-music-in-moscow-a64687 How Many Blini Can You Eat? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/01/how-many-blini-can-you-eat-a64686 The new trend in Russian cities is lavish celebration of religious and secular holidays. Fri, 01 Mar 2019 14:44:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/03/01/how-many-blini-can-you-eat-a64686 The Battle for Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/27/the-battle-for-moscow-2-a64648 Once a gathering place for Russian literary titans, it is now under threat from developers. Wed, 27 Feb 2019 15:10:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/27/the-battle-for-moscow-2-a64648 Enter Solzhenitsyn's World https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/26/enter-solzhenitsyns-world-a64628 The newly opened Solzhenitsyn apartment museum invites you into the life of the writer and his world. Tue, 26 Feb 2019 13:09:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/26/enter-solzhenitsyns-world-a64628 A Soviet Oscar Winner Restored https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/25/a-soviet-oscar-winner-restored-a64608 Snowstorm alert? No problem. Stream this 7-hour epic masterpiece. Mon, 25 Feb 2019 09:30:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/25/a-soviet-oscar-winner-restored-a64608 'Yiddish Glory' Rewrites History https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/21/yiddish-glory-rewrites-history-a64583 An unknown part of Jewish and wartime history was found in an archive. Thu, 21 Feb 2019 10:06:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/21/yiddish-glory-rewrites-history-a64583 The Definitive Beef Stroganoff https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/20/the-definitive-beef-stroganov-a64566 What you've all been waiting for - the best recipe for Beef Stroganoff ever. Wed, 20 Feb 2019 10:35:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/20/the-definitive-beef-stroganov-a64566 See Death and Life in Dzerzhinsk https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/18/see-death-and-life-in-dzerzhinsk-a64533 A multi-media show about life in an industrial wasteland... that's fighting back. Mon, 18 Feb 2019 13:11:48 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/18/see-death-and-life-in-dzerzhinsk-a64533 Get Out of Town! Go to Tula https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/15/get-out-of-town-go-to-tula-a64507 A weekend trip to Tula is just the break you need: art, museums, history, writers and hip hostelries and eateries. Fri, 15 Feb 2019 10:52:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/15/get-out-of-town-go-to-tula-a64507 Celebrate Russia On Stage https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/14/celebrate-russia-on-stage-a64494 Check out the best in theater from all over Russia. Thu, 14 Feb 2019 11:28:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/14/celebrate-russia-on-stage-a64494 A Look Back at 155 Years of the Moscow Zoo, in Pictures https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/13/look-back-at-155-years-moscow-zoo-in-pictures-a64459 From baby chimps and hippos to anti-aircraft guns during World War II, the Moscow zoo has had a rich 155-year history. Wed, 13 Feb 2019 09:32:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/13/look-back-at-155-years-moscow-zoo-in-pictures-a64459 The Magical Light of Arkhip Kuindzhi https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/08/the-magical-light-of-arkhip-kuindzhi-a64447 You still have time to see this exhibition of one of Russia's greatest 19th-century painters. Fri, 08 Feb 2019 15:08:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/08/the-magical-light-of-arkhip-kuindzhi-a64447 Moscow’s Chinese Pearls https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/moscows-chinese-pearls-a64389 Moscow might not have a Chinatown, but it has plenty of Chinese culture. Here are ten of the best. Mon, 04 Feb 2019 12:52:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/moscows-chinese-pearls-a64389 New Year, Old New Year and Chinese New Year https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/new-year-old-new-year-and-chinese-new-year-a64388 Is Russia's pivot to the East trickling down to the man and woman on the street? Mon, 04 Feb 2019 12:47:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/new-year-old-new-year-and-chinese-new-year-a64388 'DAU': A Preview https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/dau-a-preview-a64381 Russia's most genre-breaking, revolutionary film project may never be shown in Russia. Mon, 04 Feb 2019 12:28:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/04/dau-a-preview-a64381 Restoring Repin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/01/restoring-repin-a64362 The Tretyakov Gallery met with journalists to describe the first stage of repairing Repin's "Ivan the Terrible and His Son" after it was attacked. Fri, 01 Feb 2019 09:22:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/02/01/restoring-repin-a64362 What's On This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/31/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64345-a64345 Fall to Earth with David Bowie, Lovers, and some guys from Ohio this weekend. Just don't forget your galoshes. Thu, 31 Jan 2019 11:01:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/31/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64345-a64345 Not Your Babushka's Museum https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/30/not-your-babushkas-museum-a64343 If you haven't been to Moscow's Decorative Arts Museum in a while, head on over. It's not just folk arts and porcelain. Wed, 30 Jan 2019 15:43:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/30/not-your-babushkas-museum-a64343 Enter the Curious World of Viktor Pivovarov https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/29/enter-the-curious-world-of-viktor-pivovarov-a64322 If you loved works by Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, continue your stroll through Moscow conceptualist art with Viktor Pivovarov. Tue, 29 Jan 2019 10:46:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/29/enter-the-curious-world-of-viktor-pivovarov-a64322 A Daring Theft in a Moscow Museum https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/28/a-daring-theft-at-a-moscow-museum-a64312 A man walked into the Tretyakov Gallery and walked out with a million-dollar painting. Mon, 28 Jan 2019 16:20:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/28/a-daring-theft-at-a-moscow-museum-a64312 David Burliuk Comes Back to Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/david-burliuk-comes-back-to-moscow-a64297 If you haven't seen this amazing show of avant-garde Russian art, poetry and culture, run and see it before it closes on Sunday. Fri, 25 Jan 2019 15:02:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/david-burliuk-comes-back-to-moscow-a64297 New Film Fest Opens at Cosmos Theater https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/new-film-fest-opens-at-cosmos-theater-a64296 A new film festival aims to disprove the theory that some films are "not for everyone." Fri, 25 Jan 2019 14:18:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/new-film-fest-opens-at-cosmos-theater-a64296 Students Celebrate Tatiana’s Day https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/students-celebrate-tatianas-day-a64283 Don't be surprised to see hoards of merrymaking students today. It's their national holiday. Fri, 25 Jan 2019 10:10:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/25/students-celebrate-tatianas-day-a64283 What's On This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/24/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64273-a64273 How to stay warm this weekend: go to the opera, concerts, and see some great art. Thu, 24 Jan 2019 11:48:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/24/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64273-a64273 Cool Moscow Bars https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/23/cool-moscow-bars-a63829 These bars boast secret doors, personalized cocktails, and antiques for sale. Wed, 23 Jan 2019 14:25:35 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/23/cool-moscow-bars-a63829 'Women of the Gulag' Shortlisted for Oscar Nomination https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/women-of-the-gulag-shortlisted-for-oscar-nomination-a64223 This year's Oscars might include a first: the first Russian-American woman director to win one. Mon, 21 Jan 2019 14:50:23 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/women-of-the-gulag-shortlisted-for-oscar-nomination-a64223 Pushkin House Book Prize: Let the Reading Begin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/pushkin-house-book-prize-let-the-reading-begin-a64211 If you want to read the very best new books about Russia, keep your eye on this space. Mon, 21 Jan 2019 09:40:48 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/21/pushkin-house-book-prize-let-the-reading-begin-a64211 St. Petersburg Cultural Getaway https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/st-petersburg-cultural-getaway-a64183 If you're looking for a weekend getaway, how about heading north? The arts season is in full swing and the snowy canals and squares are magnificent. Fri, 18 Jan 2019 13:42:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/st-petersburg-cultural-getaway-a64183 Moscow Hosts First Show of Kahlo and Rivera https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/moscow-hosts-first-show-of-kahlo-and-rivera-a64173 Step out of the cold into the bright colors of Mexico at this much-anticipated retrospective of Kahlo and Rivera. Fri, 18 Jan 2019 08:53:28 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/18/moscow-hosts-first-show-of-kahlo-and-rivera-a64173 What's on This Weekend in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/17/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64177-a64177 Get back into the swing of things this weekend with concerts, theater and some eye-opening exhibitions. Thu, 17 Jan 2019 11:46:56 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/17/whats-on-this-weekend-in-moscow-64177-a64177 Mikhail Larionov: A Master Comes Home https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/15/mikhail-larionov-a-master-comes-home-a64142 Step out of the snow and darkness of a Moscow winter and into the light, color and movement of Mikhail Larionov's works Tue, 15 Jan 2019 11:43:39 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/15/mikhail-larionov-a-master-comes-home-a64142 Lucky Lentils For a Prosperous New Year https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/11/lucky-lentils-for-a-prosperous-new-year-a64113 Russians let you start the new year again this weekend. And here's the lucky dish to celebrate with. Fri, 11 Jan 2019 10:50:07 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/11/lucky-lentils-for-a-prosperous-new-year-a64113 'Freedom Exists' in Yekaterinburg https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/freedom-exists-in-yekaterinburg-a64094 The Yeltsin Center is holding a comprehensive show of works by the non-conformist artist Erik Bulatov. Thu, 10 Jan 2019 12:41:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/freedom-exists-in-yekaterinburg-a64094 A Capital of Culture https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/a-capital-of-culture-a63800 Back to basics -- now that tickets sales and crowds are back to normal, it's time to get some high culture. Thu, 10 Jan 2019 08:18:42 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/10/a-capital-of-culture-a63800 ‘Ayka’ Is Still In the Running for an Oscar https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/ayka-is-still-in-the-running-for-an-oscar-a64078 Another Russian-language film is in the news -- this one an Oscar contender. Wed, 09 Jan 2019 12:07:56 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/ayka-is-still-in-the-running-for-an-oscar-a64078 A Russian Film Premieres on YouTube https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/a-russian-film-premieres-on-youtube-a64074 These days the place to see a popular new Russian film is at home on your computer. Wed, 09 Jan 2019 09:56:45 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/09/a-russian-film-premieres-on-youtube-a64074 Get Out of Town https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/04/get-out-of-town-day-excursions-a63798 Tired of the capital's hum? Head out of town for the day or weekend. Fri, 04 Jan 2019 12:14:13 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/04/get-out-of-town-day-excursions-a63798 Moscow's Best English Language Bookstores https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/03/moscows-best-english-language-bookstores-a63818 If you have been searching far and wide for English language books, look no further! Here are a few stores where you will find all of your favorite titles. Thu, 03 Jan 2019 12:01:11 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/03/moscows-best-english-language-bookstores-a63818 Get Outside https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/02/get-outside-outdoor-winter-fun-and-activities-a63799 Now that your New Year's hangover is over and you've eaten your weight in salad Olivier -- it's the perfect time to head outdoors. Wed, 02 Jan 2019 14:49:38 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/02/get-outside-outdoor-winter-fun-and-activities-a63799 A New Year's Eve Trip Around Russia — and Into 2019 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/01/a-new-years-eve-trip-around-russia-and-into-2019-a64014 The celebrations reach Moscow some nine hours after the Far East first rings in the New Year. Tue, 01 Jan 2019 13:26:00 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2019/01/01/a-new-years-eve-trip-around-russia-and-into-2019-a64014 Shock the Guests on New Year's Eve https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/31/shock-the-guests-on-new-years-eve-a64008 Still cooking, chopping and fighting over the New Year's menu? Try something old with a new twist. Mon, 31 Dec 2018 10:48:35 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/31/shock-the-guests-on-new-years-eve-a64008 What To Do With the Kids Over the Vacation? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/what-to-do-with-the-kids-over-the-vacation-a63988 The winter vacation is all about the kids. Fri, 28 Dec 2018 13:33:57 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/what-to-do-with-the-kids-over-the-vacation-a63988 On Stage Over the Holidays https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/on-stage-over-the-holidays-a63987 If you think you're going to relax over the holidays, think again! Fri, 28 Dec 2018 08:52:55 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/28/on-stage-over-the-holidays-a63987 #ChristmasInMoscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/27/christmasinmoscow-a63976 Looking for the best spots for your holiday in Moscow photos? Count on us! We found them for you. Thu, 27 Dec 2018 10:15:42 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/27/christmasinmoscow-a63976 The Best Vegetarian Restaurants in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/26/the-best-vegetarian-restaurants-in-moscow-a63813 Here are our suggestions for the best vegetarian spots in town. Wed, 26 Dec 2018 13:15:43 +0100 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2018/12/26/the-best-vegetarian-restaurants-in-moscow-a63813