The Moscow Times - Independent News From Russia https://www.themoscowtimes.com/arts-and-life The Moscow Times offers everything you need to know about Russia: Breaking news, top stories, business, analysis, opinion, multimedia, upcoming cultural events en-us Thu, 16 Jul 2020 15:52:09 +0200 600 Russia Pays Tribute to Coronavirus Doctors With Murals https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/15/russia-pays-tribute-to-coronavirus-doctors-with-murals-a70876 Russia's fight against coronavirus is being transformed into large pieces of art across the country. Wed, 15 Jul 2020 13:22:23 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/15/russia-pays-tribute-to-coronavirus-doctors-with-murals-a70876 Russian Public Figures to Join Online Talk on 'War of Monuments' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/15/the-war-against-monuments-a70882 The Russian Jewish Congress has invited leading journalists, writers, musicians and architects to a discussion Thursday. Wed, 15 Jul 2020 12:15:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/15/the-war-against-monuments-a70882 A Long Weekend in Lipetsk https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/14/a-long-weekend-in-and-around-lipetsk-a70875 Looking for a weekend trip off the beaten path? Try Lipetsk - good for culture lovers and families. Tue, 14 Jul 2020 16:10:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/14/a-long-weekend-in-and-around-lipetsk-a70875 Mesto 47: On the Trans-Siberian Train Out of Khabarovsk https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/13/mesto-47-on-the-trans-siberian-train-out-of-khabarovsk-a70856 This week the Mesto47 team learns about the Far East from some miners. Mon, 13 Jul 2020 10:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/13/mesto-47-on-the-trans-siberian-train-out-of-khabarovsk-a70856 Mustard & Horseradish: Russia’s Homegrown Condiments https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/11/mustard-horseradish-russias-homegrown-condiments-a70846 Jennifer Eremeeva takes us into the pantry to make our very own, delicious native Russian condiments. Sat, 11 Jul 2020 10:30:18 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/11/mustard-horseradish-russias-homegrown-condiments-a70846 'Solidarity is Always the Best Answer' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/08/solidarity-is-always-the-best-answer-a70824 Swiss Ambassador Rossier makes sure Russian children don't miss their cancer treatments. Wed, 08 Jul 2020 15:21:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/08/solidarity-is-always-the-best-answer-a70824 Off and On the Trans-Siberian: The Lacemaker https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/07/off-and-on-the-trans-siberian-the-lacemaker-a70813 Anna is "an old-fashioned girl" - proud of it and happy. Tue, 07 Jul 2020 13:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/07/off-and-on-the-trans-siberian-the-lacemaker-a70813 Magnum Photographs at St. Petersburg Manege Exhibition Hall https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/07/magnum-photographs-at-st-petersburg-manege-exhibition-hall-a70808 A show of brilliant photographs from 73 years of Soviet and Russian life. Tue, 07 Jul 2020 12:12:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/07/magnum-photographs-at-st-petersburg-manege-exhibition-hall-a70808 Kvas: Russia’s National Tipple https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/04/kvas-russias-national-tipple-a70784 No kvas truck making deliveries in your neighborhood? No problem! Start brewing! Sat, 04 Jul 2020 10:19:33 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/04/kvas-russias-national-tipple-a70784 Moscow’s Best Swimming Holes https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/03/moscows-best-swimming-holes-a70777 Where to cool off and splash around on hot summer days. Fri, 03 Jul 2020 12:03:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/03/moscows-best-swimming-holes-a70777 Moscow Honors Delivery Workers With a Monument https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/03/moscow-honors-delivery-workers-with-a-monument-a70773 Several big Russian e-commerce and food-tech companies chose to honor their couriers. Fri, 03 Jul 2020 10:39:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/03/moscow-honors-delivery-workers-with-a-monument-a70773 Feast on Moroccan Cuisine This Weekend https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/02/feast-on-moroccan-cuisine-this-weekend-a70754 Our friends and neighbors at the Hyatt Regency are offering a Moroccan feast. Thu, 02 Jul 2020 13:01:51 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/02/feast-on-moroccan-cuisine-this-weekend-a70754 Russian Staycation: Kazan with Kids https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/01/russian-staycation-kazan-with-kids-a70749 Kazan is a fascinating city for adults, but it also has enough to keep kids happy and interested. Wed, 01 Jul 2020 14:47:44 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/01/russian-staycation-kazan-with-kids-a70749 Where Can I Travel in Russia This Summer? https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/01/where-can-i-travel-in-russia-this-summer-a70744 Many Russian regions are re-opening for domestic tourism following three months of coronavirus lockdowns. Wed, 01 Jul 2020 10:32:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/07/01/where-can-i-travel-in-russia-this-summer-a70744 On and Off the Trans-Siberian: The General's Wife https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/29/on-and-off-the-trans-siberian-the-generals-wife-a70727 This week the Mesto 47 team talks to a general's wife about love. Mon, 29 Jun 2020 11:45:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/29/on-and-off-the-trans-siberian-the-generals-wife-a70727 Taming Morkovcha — Russia’s Beloved Korean Carrot Salad https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/27/taming-mokovcha-russias-beloved-korean-carrot-salad-a70717 Jennifer Eremeeva cracks the code of everyone's favorite carrot salad. Sat, 27 Jun 2020 10:22:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/27/taming-mokovcha-russias-beloved-korean-carrot-salad-a70717 Serebrennikov Trial: Russia Gives Suspended Sentence to Prominent Director in Fraud Case https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/26/serebrennikov-trial-russia-gives-suspended-sentence-to-prominent-director-in-fraud-case-a70708 The sentencing marks a surprise legal victory in a case the director's supporters say was politically motivated. Fri, 26 Jun 2020 15:59:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/26/serebrennikov-trial-russia-gives-suspended-sentence-to-prominent-director-in-fraud-case-a70708 Russian Artists Call for Justice in 'Theater Trial' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/25/russian-artists-call-for-justice-in-theater-trial-a70703 The verdict in the case against director Kirill Serebrennikov and three others will be reached tomorrow. Thu, 25 Jun 2020 17:34:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/25/russian-artists-call-for-justice-in-theater-trial-a70703 Celebrate with a Chinese Take-Away Feast https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/25/celebrate-with-a-chinese-take-away-feast-a70688 Looking forward to the weekend? Enjoy it with a home-delivered Chinese dinner. Thu, 25 Jun 2020 10:16:36 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/25/celebrate-with-a-chinese-take-away-feast-a70688 Moscow Cultural Life Is Slowly Reawakening https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/23/moscow-cultural-life-is-slowly-reawakening-a70665 Moscow museums are gradually opening their exhibitions to visitors as the lockdown eases. Tue, 23 Jun 2020 12:03:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/23/moscow-cultural-life-is-slowly-reawakening-a70665 On and Off the Trans-Siberian: The Homeowners of Kazan https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/22/on-and-off-the-trans-siberian-the-homeowners-of-kazan-a70652 This week, hop of the train in Kazan and visit some local residents and their homes. Mon, 22 Jun 2020 12:46:12 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/22/on-and-off-the-trans-siberian-the-homeowners-of-kazan-a70652 Waste-Not-Want-Not Sour Cream Scallion Dip and Sukhariki https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/20/waste-not-want-not-sour-cream-scallion-dip-and-sukhariki-a70642 Jennifer Eremeeva shows us how thrift produces the perfect Russian beer snack. Sat, 20 Jun 2020 10:51:57 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/20/waste-not-want-not-sour-cream-scallion-dip-and-sukhariki-a70642 Russia Takes on ALS With a Marathon https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/19/russia-takes-on-als-with-a-marathon-a70628 Russia's only group to help patients with ALS is getting a jump on the ice bucket challenge. Fri, 19 Jun 2020 11:35:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/19/russia-takes-on-als-with-a-marathon-a70628 Everything for a Peruvian Feast But the Llamas https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/18/everything-for-a-peruvian-feast-but-the-llamas-a70617 Honey, let's go Peruvian this weekend... Thu, 18 Jun 2020 13:17:15 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/18/everything-for-a-peruvian-feast-but-the-llamas-a70617 Moscow Flocks to Reopened Restaurant Patios After Virus Lockdown https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/17/moscow-flocks-to-reopened-restaurant-patios-after-virus-lockdown-a70601 Muscovites are packing restaurant verandas as they return to their pre-Covid lives, but at what cost? Wed, 17 Jun 2020 13:55:24 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/17/moscow-flocks-to-reopened-restaurant-patios-after-virus-lockdown-a70601 Russian Cultural Luminaries Read Joyce’s ‘Ulysses’ in Marathon Broadcast https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/16/russian-cultural-luminaries-read-joyces-ulysses-in-marathon-broadcast-a70583 The event will raise money for Russian coronavirus doctors. Tue, 16 Jun 2020 12:18:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/16/russian-cultural-luminaries-read-joyces-ulysses-in-marathon-broadcast-a70583 Tales from the Trans-Siberian: Irina, the Siberian Free-Climber https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/15/tales-from-the-trans-siberian-irina-the-siberian-free-climber-a70562 Off the train, a recognized Stolbist leads us into the mountains to learn about free climbing. Mon, 15 Jun 2020 12:17:03 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/15/tales-from-the-trans-siberian-irina-the-siberian-free-climber-a70562 Hansa Herring Salad for a Healthy Holiday Picnic https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/13/hansa-herring-salad-for-a-healthy-holiday-picnic-a70561 Herring - love it or leave it? Try Hansa salad and see if you invite this little pickled fish to stay. Sat, 13 Jun 2020 11:02:34 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/13/hansa-herring-salad-for-a-healthy-holiday-picnic-a70561 How Russia’s Homeless Animals Survived the Quarantine https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/11/how-russias-homeless-animals-survived-the-quarantine-a70546 Russia's animal volunteers stepped up their efforts during the long quarantine. Thu, 11 Jun 2020 12:05:22 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/11/how-russias-homeless-animals-survived-the-quarantine-a70546 Go to Thailand This Weekend — at Home in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/11/go-to-thailand-this-weekend-at-home-in-moscow-a70545 How about a Thai feast at home to celebrate this long holiday weekend? Thu, 11 Jun 2020 09:24:01 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/11/go-to-thailand-this-weekend-at-home-in-moscow-a70545 Russian TV Channel Appears to Add Footage of U.S. Unrest to Film https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/08/russian-tv-channel-appears-to-add-footage-of-us-unrest-to-film-a70509 The state-run broadcaster Channel One said it was the start of their news broadcast, but viewers complained. Mon, 08 Jun 2020 17:28:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/08/russian-tv-channel-appears-to-add-footage-of-us-unrest-to-film-a70509 Tales from the Trans-Siberian: Vasily, the Putin Impersonator https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/08/tales-from-the-trans-siberian-vasily-the-putin-impersonator-a70516 A story told to Marina Dmukhovskaya and photographed by Georg Wallner for their project Mesto47. Mon, 08 Jun 2020 15:17:39 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/08/tales-from-the-trans-siberian-vasily-the-putin-impersonator-a70516 Celebrate the Russian Language and Alexander Pushkin https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/06/celebrate-the-russian-language-and-alexander-pushkin-a70499 What better way to celebrate our favorite language than with 10 little films? Sat, 06 Jun 2020 13:42:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/06/celebrate-the-russian-language-and-alexander-pushkin-a70499 'Soviet Signs and Street Relics' https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/06/soviet-signs-and-street-relics-a70488 Images of Soviet-era sculptural signage: bizarre, beautiful, touching, comical and just amazing. Sat, 06 Jun 2020 13:05:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/06/soviet-signs-and-street-relics-a70488 Moscow Red Square Book Fair Set to Open https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/05/bookfair-a70489 The first summer event is about to take place before quarantine is over in Moscow. Fri, 05 Jun 2020 15:50:38 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/05/bookfair-a70489 Have a Taco Party This Weekend https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/03/have-a-taco-party-this-weekend-a70472 Our friends and neighbors at the Hyatt Regency Petrovsky Park are serving up a Mexican feast. Wed, 03 Jun 2020 15:47:04 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/06/03/have-a-taco-party-this-weekend-a70472 Shashlyk in the City https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/30/shashlyk-in-the-city-a70429 As quarantine puts the kibosh on the dacha season, urbanites need to get their grilled meat fix. Sat, 30 May 2020 14:21:34 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/30/shashlyk-in-the-city-a70429 Tours, Talks, and Theater Online https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/28/tours-talks-and-theater-online-a70412 Here are some cultural picks for this evening and the days ahead. Thu, 28 May 2020 15:55:27 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/28/tours-talks-and-theater-online-a70412 Order an Indian Feast in Moscow https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/27/order-an-indian-feast-in-moscow-a70395 Chef Ashwani Vyas is preparing an Indian meal for in-home dining this weekend. Wed, 27 May 2020 10:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/27/order-an-indian-feast-in-moscow-a70395 'How Things Can Be': Young Russian Architects Reinvent Cityscapes https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/26/how-things-can-be-young-russian-architects-reinvent-cityscape-a70325 An architectural competition seeks to bring young voices into Russia's future. Tue, 26 May 2020 14:56:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/26/how-things-can-be-young-russian-architects-reinvent-cityscape-a70325 Russia's High School Seniors Ring the 'Last Bell' in Self-Isolation https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/26/russias-high-school-seniors-ring-the-last-bell-in-self-isolation-a70382 The time-honored tradition marking the last day of classes for high school grads didn't stop for the coronavirus. Tue, 26 May 2020 14:11:55 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/26/russias-high-school-seniors-ring-the-last-bell-in-self-isolation-a70382 Russia ‘Ready’ for New Comedy on Gay Activists’ 1970s Soviet Visit, Producer Says https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/26/russia-ready-for-new-comedy-on-gay-activists-1970s-soviet-visit-producer-says-a70380 “It’s a conversation about intolerance to the ‘others’,” Oscar-nominated producer Alexander Rodnyansky said. Tue, 26 May 2020 11:11:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/26/russia-ready-for-new-comedy-on-gay-activists-1970s-soviet-visit-producer-says-a70380 Remembering Joseph Brodsky https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/25/remembering-joseph-brodsky-a70376 Brodsky would have been 80 years old May 24, 2020. Mon, 25 May 2020 14:52:45 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/25/remembering-joseph-brodsky-a70376 Russia's Muslims Celebrate the End of Ramadan in the Time of a Pandemic https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/25/russias-muslims-celebrate-the-end-of-ramadan-in-the-time-of-a-pandemic-a70368 The Eid al-Fitr holiday is a feast marking the end of the month-long fast of Ramadan. Mon, 25 May 2020 10:47:37 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/25/russias-muslims-celebrate-the-end-of-ramadan-in-the-time-of-a-pandemic-a70368 Celebrate Joseph Brodsky Today https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/24/celebrate-joseph-brodsky-today-a70365 A few events and films to honor the life and work of Joseph Brodsky. Sun, 24 May 2020 14:50:38 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/24/celebrate-joseph-brodsky-today-a70365 Go to the Russian Theater This Weekend https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/23/go-to-the-russian-theater-this-weekend-a70362 Take trips to Novosibirsk and Moscow to see the best of contemporary theater. Sat, 23 May 2020 12:49:38 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/23/go-to-the-russian-theater-this-weekend-a70362 Conquering the Heart of Borodinsky Bread https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/23/conquering-the-heart-of-borodinsky-bread-a70361 Jennifer Eremeeva has used the lock-down wisely. It involves home-made bread and a spongy friend. Sat, 23 May 2020 11:22:32 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/23/conquering-the-heart-of-borodinsky-bread-a70361 Listen to Writer Maxim Osipov Read His Works https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/22/listen-to-writer-maxim-osipov-read-his-works-a70352 The writer will speak on the Corpus publishing house sites this evening. Fri, 22 May 2020 11:10:51 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/22/listen-to-writer-maxim-osipov-read-his-works-a70352 Zuleikha Opens Her Eyes to Dark Spots of Russian History https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/22/zuleikha-opens-her-eyes-to-dark-spots-of-russian-history-a70351 The Director of the series “Zuleikha” Yegor Anashkin told The Moscow Times that young actors had never heard of “dekulakization.” Fri, 22 May 2020 10:50:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/22/zuleikha-opens-her-eyes-to-dark-spots-of-russian-history-a70351 Russian Movie Theater to Offer Drive-In Movies Amid Pandemic https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/21/russian-movie-theater-to-offer-drive-in-movies-amid-pandemic-a70340 The theaters will show popular movies from past years. Thu, 21 May 2020 16:01:00 +0200 https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2020/05/21/russian-movie-theater-to-offer-drive-in-movies-amid-pandemic-a70340