

Putin Signs Decree Granting Residency to Foreigners Who Share 'Traditional' Russian Values

August 19, 2024



A family of Americans moving to Russia. Russian Interior Ministry

President Vladimir Putin on Monday <u>signed</u> a decree allowing foreign citizens and stateless individuals to apply for temporary residency in the country if they share "traditional Russian spiritual and moral values," even in cases when a person does not speak Russian.

The decree states that those who oppose the "destructive neoliberal ideological agenda" in their home country can seek "humanitarian support" from the Russian authorities by applying for a temporary residence permit.

It also tasks the government and Foreign Ministry with creating a list of countries Moscow considers to be "pursuing a destructive neoliberal agenda" within 30 days.

People applying for temporary residence status in Russia according to the new "humanitarian" scheme would not need to show proof of Russian language proficiency or knowledge of Russian history and the country's laws.

Related article: <u>Russia to Build 'Migrant Village' for Conservative American Expats</u>

Russian authorities have increasingly sought to attract conservative Westerners to the country, positioning Russia as a "traditional" counterpoint to what they portray as a morally decadent West.

In May 2023, authorities <u>announced</u> the creation of a "migrant village" outside Moscow for conservative American expats. At the time, a migration lawyer said "around 200 families" wanted to emigrate to the country for "ideological reasons."

And last week, Russia's Interior Ministry <u>said</u> an American couple and their children had sought "temporary asylum" in the country due to a "canceling... of traditional and family values, as well as the low level of education" in the United States.

Update: On Sept. 20, 2024 Russia's government <u>approved</u> a list of countries it considers to be "pursuing a destructive neoliberal agenda," which includes Australia, Austria, Albania, Andorra, Bahamas, Belgium, Bulgaria, Great Britain, Germany, Greece, Denmark, Ireland, Iceland, Spain, Italy, Canada, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Micronesia, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Croatia, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, San Marino, North Macedonia, Singapore, Slovenia, United States of America, Taiwan, Ukraine, Finland, France, Croatia, Montenegro, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Sweden, Estonia and Japan.

Original url:

https://www.themoscowtimes.com/2024/08/19/putin-signs-decree-granting-residency-to-foreigners-wh o-share-traditional-russian-values-a86074